Toppsta - Childrens Books – Reviews

The Deepest Breath

by

Write a Review

Stevie is eleven and loves reading and sea-creatures. She lives with her mum, and she's been best friends with Andrew since forever. Stevie's mum teases her that someday they'll get married, but Stevie knows that won't ever happen. There's a girl at school that she likes more. A lot more. Actually, she's a bit confused about how much she likes her. It's nothing like the way she likes Andrew. It makes her fizz inside. That's a new feeling, one she doesn't understand.

Stevie needs to find out if girls can like girls - love them, even - but it's hard to get any information, and she's too shy to ask out loud about it. But maybe she can find an answer in a book. With the help of a librarian, Stevie finds stories of girls loving girls, and builds up her courage to share the truth with her mum.
Written in accessible verse `chapters' and in a warm and reassuring style, The Deepest Breath will be of special relevance to young girls who are starting to realise that they are attracted to other girls, but it is also a story for any young reader with an open mind who wants to understand how people's emotions affect their lives.

The Deepest Breath Reviews | Toppsta

9781912417186
  • ISBN: 9781912417186
  • Pub Date: 9th May 2019
  • Publisher: Little Island
  • Imprint: Little Island
  • Format: Paperback
  • Number of Pages: 180

Share on

Featured Book
The Weather Weaver
The Weather Weaver

BOOK OF THE MONTH - We love this magical coming-of-age debut by Tamsin Mori. Perfect for fans of Michelle Harrison, Catherine Doyle, and Abi Elphistone.

View book
Featured Books

Videos

If you would like to provide a video review please sign up to our video panel.

Sign up to our newsletter for...

Free Book Giveaways, Recommendations & more

Be the first to write a Review


No one has written a review for 'The Deepest Breath'

Why not be the first to share your opinion?

Featured Book
The Weather Weaver
The Weather Weaver

BOOK OF THE MONTH - We love this magical coming-of-age debut by Tamsin Mori. Perfect for fans of Michelle Harrison, Catherine Doyle, and Abi Elphistone.

View book
Featured Books

About Meg Grehan

Meg Grehan is a 24-year-old writer from Louth who now lives in Donegal. She works as a stage manager and theatre technician in productions around Ireland. She has written for online newspapers and journals such as The Arcade, but this is her first book.

More about Meg Grehan

Ratings

  • (0 Reviews)
  • (0 Reviews)
  • (0 Reviews)
  • (0 Reviews)
  • (0 Reviews)