Toppsta - Childrens Books – Reviews

The Match

by
,

The Match Reviews | Toppsta

Book Rating: 4 based on 12
12 Reviews
Write a Review

The perfect gift for all those whose lives revolve around The Beautiful Game ...

The man works all week in the factory. The dog waits at home. On the weekend, they both watch THE MATCH on television together. Results aren't good so the dog decides to do something about it ...

With a knowing, dry humour perfect for fans of Wallace & Gromit, and a simple domestic setting, THE MATCH is the ideal gift for all football fans. Because if you aren't watching football, then reading about it is the next best thing!

The Match Reviews | Toppsta

9781408893456

Share on

Featured Book
Book pages Dennis in Jurassic Bark
Dennis in Jurassic Bark

Dennis's latest adventure is filled with epic fun and a series of interactive puzzles for YOU, the reader, to complete.

View book
Featured Book
Book pages The Girl, the Bear and the Magic Shoes
The Girl, the Bear and the Magic Shoes

A glittering magical adventure about a girl, a bear and some very special shoes!

View book

Sign up to our newsletter for...

Free Book Giveaways, Recommendations & more

6th July '18
I read it to Sebbytris aged 5 aged 5
The Match 9781408893456
5 stars
Lovely illustrated book. My son really liked this book.
7th August '18
little fox read it themselves aged 10 aged 10
The Match 9781408893456
5 stars
My son loved this unique story (as did i) we have spent hours re-reading and still find something new in the pictures we missed before. Great for children & adults, my son wants a copy for his uncle. I think it makes the perfect gift!
1st July '18
I read it to FreddyBoggis aged 6 aged 6
The Match 9781408893456
5 stars
We love football, so we loved this book. Not many words, but who needs them when the pictures tell the story. One man and his dog have the same routine every day untill they sit together at the weekend and watch the football, but there team always loses and there's a surprise substitute at the end. My little boy really enjoyed this book.
18th July '18
Linus read it themselves aged 6 aged 6
The Match 9781408893456
5 stars
Russell Ayto always warrants a read, this one is no exception.
It's ostensibly a kids' book but could easily be given to a grown up football fan and/or dog lover as a great gift.
It's slightly reminiscent of the great Charles M. Schulz but is in no way derivative. 
The drawings are wonderful, my six year old and I had lots of chuckles comparing pictures from different pages.
My only problem is that my son loved it so much he took it to bed with him, showed it around and now we can't find it!
2nd July '18
I read it to Ragdollkhanbaby aged 6 aged 6
The Match 9781408893456
5 stars
What a delightful little book, very simple text with some lovely little pictures to tell a great story about a man and his dog.  Days seem to be the same and there is a wonderful little twist at the end.  A pleasant little tale and inspired my son to do some similar drawings of his own and make up his own story.
27th June '18
I read it to LucasChops aged 7 aged 7
The Match 9781408893456
5 stars
If there ever was a case of a picture painting a thousand words this book is it.  Sparse text and lots of teeny tiny pictures tell the story of one man and his dog, their love of football but their despair at all the defeats.  Until one of them decides to do something about it...…………
This book really made me smile (though was perhaps slightly too subtle for Lucas).  A perfect gift for football (or dog) fans!
27th June '18
I read it to Brobee aged 5 aged 5 & to Toodee aged 4 aged 4
The Match 9781408893456
5 stars
This is a wonderful book and, if anyone in your house has an interest in football, will make you laugh a lot! There's very little text to read but the pictures give you so much to think about. We liked the black and white pictures, contrasted with the green pitch as it reminded us of daddy's favourite team and have decided to keep a closer eye on our pets from now on...you never know what they get up to when we're at school!
15th July '18
jackmot read it themselves aged 9 aged 9
The Match 9781408893456
4 stars
I liked this book because it was funny and the illustrations were really cool. I wish it could have been a bit longer because I finished reading everything in about 5 minutes. 
2nd July '18
I read it to AvaW aged 5 aged 5
The Match 9781408893456
4 stars
It was very simple, lots of little pictures but short sentences, with the pictures background colour always being bright green, which is very eye catching. My daughter read some of the book with me. We liked the ending, we didn't expect that, and my daughter thought it was funny. I dont think its a book she will want to read over and over.
27th June '18
I read it to joshgok aged 7 aged 7 & to JakeGOK aged 5 aged 5
The Match 9781408893456
4 stars
We received this book while we were all sat watching a World Cup match together....with the dog on the sofa between us too!! For some reason, I didn't expect an actual story, or a picture book, but it is.  Simple short sentences, combined with small simple pictures, makes a lovely and heartwarming story.

The characters are The Man and The dog, and we don't learn much about them , until the end when we discover the dog has a secret....!

The illustrations are nice, and the story was heartwarming and made us smile.

Better for reading alone, or a couple of children, than reading to a class.
30th September '18
I read it myself (an adult)
The Match 9781408893456
3 stars
The Match is a quirky picture book, although unclear who exactly it is aimed at.  It is a small book approx 18 cm square and is illustrated using only black, white and green. It tells the story, using mainly single words, of a man and his dog who share a regular weekly routine, culminating in sitting down together and watching the football, until one Saturday there is an unexpected change in the routine.  A charming, quirky book which might appeal more to adults than to children!
6th November '18
I read it myself (an adult)
The Match 9781408893456
3 stars
I read this with a view to adding it to our school library and I thought it was quite a charming book - a bit off-the-wall. The story centres around a man and his dog who regularly sit down together to watch the football.  The pictures, being mainly green, black and white, are not particularly eye-catching, but reward close observation. I think some older children who find reading more difficult will enjoy the humour which I think is probably beyond younger children. I'm sure it will be a useful addition to the school library.
Show More (0)
Featured Book
Book pages Dennis in Jurassic Bark
Dennis in Jurassic Bark

Dennis's latest adventure is filled with epic fun and a series of interactive puzzles for YOU, the reader, to complete.

View book
Featured Book
Book pages The Girl, the Bear and the Magic Shoes
The Girl, the Bear and the Magic Shoes

A glittering magical adventure about a girl, a bear and some very special shoes!

View book

About Russell Ayto

Adrian Mitchell is a well-known poet and playwright whose work is enjoyed by both adults and children. He is currently staging an interpretation of Lewis Carroll's 'The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe' at The Sadler's Wells Theatre. He also performs his poetry to people of all ages all around the world....

More about Russell Ayto

About Russell Ayto

Adrian Mitchell is a well-known poet and playwright whose work is enjoyed by both adults and children. He is currently staging an interpretation of Lewis Carroll's 'The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe' at The Sadler's Wells Theatre. He also performs his poetry to people of all a...

More about Russell Ayto

Ratings

  • (7 Reviews)
  • (3 Reviews)
  • (2 Reviews)
  • (0 Reviews)
  • (0 Reviews)