Toppsta - Childrens Books – Reviews

The Battle of the Blighty Bling

by
,

The Battle of the Blighty Bling Reviews | Toppsta

Book Rating: 4 based on 7
7 Reviews
Write a Review

Vic and her younger brother and sister Bert and Maud have been left alone at home, which means they will surely get into mischief. But not just any ordinary kind of mischief, because Vic and her family are PIRATES.

The only problem is, Dad sunk the family pirate ship and now the family is stuck in a caravan by the sea. So when the kids accidentally lose the family pirate treasure, the legendary Blighty Bling, it's up to them to take to the high seas in a leaky rowing boat and get it back, with their annoying know-it-all neighbours in tow.

But their swashbuckling adventure runs into a few problems when they meet their pirate enemy, Captain Guillemot, and Vic discovers a few home truths along the way...

The Battle of the Blighty Bling Reviews | Toppsta

9781783446926
  • ISBN: 9781783446926
  • Pub Date: 12th July 2018
  • Publisher: Andersen Press Ltd
  • Imprint: Andersen Press Ltd
  • Format: Paperback
  • Number of Pages: 224

Share on

Sign up to our newsletter for...

Free Book Giveaways, Recommendations & more

14th August '18
I read it to seany aged 9 aged 9
The Battle of the Blighty Bling 9781783446926
5 stars
Fantastic book of your kids love pirates!!!
17th September '18
I read it to RC13 aged 5 aged 5
The Battle of the Blighty Bling 9781783446926
5 stars
My daughter really enjoyed this book- the story is very entertaining and the illustrations are fun. It us a great book for a newly confident reader to share with a grown up.
28th July '18
I read it to Ama123 aged 8 aged 8
The Battle of the Blighty Bling 9781783446926
5 stars
  
'The Battle of the Blighty Bling' is a rip-roaring, fantastic book. Perfect for fans of Mr Gum, and Spangles McNasty books. The wacky illustrations by Eric Heyman are so brill
 
The McScurvys are a family of pirates like no other you've heard or read of. They get seasick, now live in a caravan, the kids go to school and their parents work in a supermarket (where they pinch yummy food for their piratey feasts).
 
Sister and brother, Vic and Bert are trying to impress their younger sister Maud and so play pirates with their family's priceless treasure, The Blighty Bling. BUT when their swords are stolen their whole adventure or misadventure starts. We whizzed through this funny read in no time at all.
 
 
25th August '18
I read it to Lucia B. aged 8 aged 8 & to Elijah B. aged 5 aged 5
The Battle of the Blighty Bling 9781783446926
5 stars
Loved this cleverly written & illustrated book about the adventures of a family of down-on-their-luck naughty pirate children. Lucia & Elijah laughed out loud.
17th August '18
I read it to Ragdollkhanbaby aged 6 aged 6
The Battle of the Blighty Bling 9781783446926
4 stars
Well we have a pirate fan in our house and this book is fantastic!  Great illustrations, funny storyline he loved it.  Nice text size so good for those in early stages of reading for themselves interjected with drawings to spice things up.  Highly recommended.
23rd August '18
Leonjames read it themselves aged 11 aged 11
The Battle of the Blighty Bling 9781783446926
4 stars
I couldn't put this book down its was an exciting read. If you love pirates and adventure you will love this. This story is about no ordinary pirates. Best books iv read for ages definitely recommening it to all my friends 
13th August '18
I read it to Catriona library aged 3 to 11
The Battle of the Blighty Bling 9781783446926
3 stars
The story had the kids in stitches but there were subtle word plays to entertain the adults too.  We very much enjoyed the illustrations that hark back to the days of Roald Dahl.  The layout is great, with words that are fun to say or are expressive or being shouted being printed in large, decorative letters.  That made it brilliant for group work.  I can see this being asked for again and again.
Show More (0)