Toppsta - Childrens Books – Reviews

The Herd Boy

by

The Herd Boy Reviews | Toppsta

Book Rating: 4 based on 1
1 Review
Write a Review

The story describes a day in the life of an African herd boy from the Transkei region of South Africa. He watches over his flock all day, watches out for birds of prey and helps to save the life of a lamb attacked by baboons. On the way home a big shiny car passes the boy and his flock and the person inside winds down the window. It is Nelson Mandela. When he asks the boy what his dream is, the boy replies...to be President. And the book ends with the boy's big dream of a future very far from the sheep and the village. Nelson Mandela came from the Transkei region and was also a herd boy during his childhood. With an endnote about the link with Nelson Mandela and a glossary of African words.

The Herd Boy Reviews | Toppsta

9781847802170

Share on

Featured Book
Book pages Dragon Mountain
Dragon Mountain

BOOK OF THE MONTH: The first adventure in the ROAR some DRAGON REALM series for 9+ readers! Perfect for fans of PERCY JACKSON and BEAST QUEST!

View book
Featured Book
Book pages Football School Epic Heroes: 50 true tales that shook the world
Football School Epic Heroes: 50 true tales that shook the world

Celebrate the greatest names and teams in football history with this collection of 50 true stories in this popular football series.

View book

Videos

If you would like to provide a video review please sign up to our video panel.

Category

See More Picture storybooks

Sign up to our newsletter for...

Free Book Giveaways, Recommendations & more

Show More (0)
ajax loader

REVIEWER'S AGE

     
Age 5 7
Featured Book
Book pages Dragon Mountain
Dragon Mountain

BOOK OF THE MONTH: The first adventure in the ROAR some DRAGON REALM series for 9+ readers! Perfect for fans of PERCY JACKSON and BEAST QUEST!

View book
Featured Book
Book pages Football School Epic Heroes: 50 true tales that shook the world
Football School Epic Heroes: 50 true tales that shook the world

Celebrate the greatest names and teams in football history with this collection of 50 true stories in this popular football series.

View book

About Niki Daly

Niki Daly lives in South Africa with his wife, the illustrator Jude Daly. He was written and illustrated many award-winning picture books, including Why the Sun and Moon Live in the Sky, which was a New York Times Book Review Best Illustrated Book of the Year. He won the Molteno Gold Medal Award for his contribution to English literature in South Africa.

More about Niki Daly

Ratings

  • (0 Reviews)
  • (1 Reviews)
  • (0 Reviews)
  • (0 Reviews)
  • (0 Reviews)