Toppsta - Childrens Books – Reviews

William Wenton and the Luridium Thief

by

William Wenton and the Luridium Thief Reviews | Toppsta

Book Rating: 5 based on 11
11 Reviews
Write a Review

A new fantasy-adventure series packed with addictive genre hooks for 9+ readers: code-breaking, cyber-technology, killer robots and a boy hero with a supernatural destiny. Perfect for fans of Percy Jackson, Alex Rider and Dr Who.

Packed full of magical code-breaking skills, wisecracking robots and a young hero who might just be too clever for his own good, this tech-savvy adventure is perfect for fans of Percy Jackson and Alex Rider. Twelve year-old code breaking genius William Wenton, is trying to make sense of his family's dramatic escape from their home in London. But when his extraordinary talent for cracking codes is suddenly revealed, William must face the danger that has been lurking around him for years.

William Wenton and the Luridium Thief Reviews | Toppsta

9781406371703

Share on

Sign up to our newsletter for...

Free Book Giveaways, Recommendations & more

17th March '17
Syd1 read it themselves aged 9 aged 9
William Wenton and the Luridium Thief 9781406371703
5 stars
This is a story about William Wenton and his family who are in hiding in Norway after his grandfather disappeared. William has an amazing skill for cracking codes, and when that skill is discovered it starts a chain of events that leads you through a fast paced story of intrigue and mystery, as William aims to discover what happenend to his grandfathers and solve a decade old family secrets. 

We throughly enjoyed this book and would recommend it highly.
23rd March '17
Lego boy read it themselves aged 8 aged 8
William Wenton and the Luridium Thief 9781406371703
5 stars
William Wenton is a fabulous book! I can imagine what's going on in my head in the story easily. I liked William with his orb but you will have to find out what this is! I kept reading this book whenever I could, before school, over breakfast, over dinner, in bed - I literally finished it in three days.

I can't wait until the next William Wenton book comes out, I have asked mum to keep an eye out on the internet so we can get it when it does!

(From Mum)

My son, also a William, consumed this book at every available opportunity. Prior to this book, it had been difficult to get him back into reading novels by himself as he'd got a bit reading lazy - but within a chapter of this he was hooked and his reading appetite alight like never before! Such a pleasure to see him TOTALLY absorbed by this book. Would 100% recommend!
19th March '17
AJH read it themselves aged 11 aged 11
William Wenton and the Luridium Thief 9781406371703
5 stars
This book was amazing! As soon as I opened it, it was never closed again until the last page. I was gripped by the story. William Wenton thinks he is an ordinary boy until his house is attacked and he is whisked away to a secret location called "The Institute". At the Institute William learns that he has talent for code breaking, and is the only one in the world that can find his missing grandpa. A book of excitement and adventure, I would recommend to everyone who likes technology.
23rd March '17
I read it myself (an adult)
William Wenton and the Luridium Thief 9781406371703
5 stars
code-breaking, cyber-technology, killer robots and a boy hero with a supernatural destiny.
19th March '17
BenS246 read it themselves aged 11 aged 11
William Wenton and the Luridium Thief 9781406371703
5 stars
ben absolutely loved this book! highly recommend for anyone who loves fantasy-adventure stories
30th March '17
sophie1 read it themselves aged 12 aged 12
William Wenton and the Luridium Thief 9781406371703
5 stars
Hi Toppsta! 

The stuff i liked about this book is/are:-

1)the institute
2)Iscia
3)William
4)Laika

i like Iscia as a character because towards the begging of the end, she seems kinda mean as with when William first meets her but then she becomes very nice.

i also like Laika because, well shes/hes a dog crossed with a robot and i like dogs and i also like robots.

William you just have to like i mean hes the main character! you have to like the main character if you dont then your kinda crazy!

i also cant wait for the next story to come out like it could involve Abraham some how breaking out and "mind controlling" William  by using the luridium.

i would also like to see a map at the start of the book of the Institute because its very hard to know where everything is.

thanks for a great awe inspiring read  i  the book!
2nd June '17
I read it myself aged 10 aged 10
William Wenton and the Luridium Thief 9781406371703
5 stars
I thoroughly enjoyed this book. The cyber-tech was extremely interesting, and the idea of luridium certainly hooked me in. Also, I love code-breaking books such as Alex Rider and Ruby Redfort so I immediately took to this book, and having read it on a plane flight, I didn't miss any details.

For me, the secrets in this book make it worth reading. You really want to find the answers once you get started, and so you read it from cover to cover until you finds them.

A fabulous book with a twist at the end that I would definitely recommend to mystery lovers who are nine or over.
27th June '17
Danmanx read it themselves aged 9 aged 9
William Wenton and the Luridium Thief 9781406371703
5 stars
I really really loved this book. Once I started reading it I couldn't put it down. The story keeps you gripped the whole way through. This book is great for boys and girls especially anyone who likes computers, coding, science or technology etc. I think anyone who likes Alex Rider books would love this book. This book was EPIC. 
28th March '17
I read it to Year 6. aged 10 to 11
William Wenton and the Luridium Thief 9781406371703
5 stars
William Wenton. Genius code breaker.

William and his parents are in hiding and his grandfather has disappeared. For eight years they have maintained their anonymity in Norway and life can go on with all the appearance of normality.  On the morning of a school trip to the museum William's mother, anxious to preserve the family's identity, stresses upon William the importance of not drawing attention to himself. Above all else he must not draw attention to himself. Easy, right? But things don't always go to plan; especially if you're William Wenton, drawn to puzzles and codes...and the museum is hosting the Impossible Puzzle Exhibition, the world's most difficult code which has, to date, defeated the world's best mathematicians and code breakers.  The greatest minds combined are no match for the Impossible Puzzle...

William doesn't intend to solve it. He just wants to see it. He didn't ask to be called up on stage and he certainly didn't mean to solve it. But there's something inside William that yearns for puzzles and codes and before he knows what's happening he is turning and twisting the puzzle's components and......so his adventure begins.

This is a really engaging read; there's code breaking, adventure, mad cap robots and a well crafted baddie. We're kept guessing as to who William can trust as the story unfolds at a pace.

I've quite a waiting list of Year 5 and 6 (...and 7!) students ready to read this one!
7th May '17
BeeReaderK read it themselves aged 9 aged 9
William Wenton and the Luridium Thief 9781406371703
4 stars
Great mystery book, really loved reading it.
The characters are cool and all the cyber tech was awesome
24th March '17
I read it myself (an adult)
William Wenton and the Luridium Thief 9781406371703
4 stars
Just by reading the title I knew this book would be similar to the Alex Rider and Percy Jackson stories I have come to love. I was not mistaken for William Wenton has become a fictional hero to be proud of. With his cool intellect and modern day cryptography skills the story unfolds as you learn all about William and how he had to go away into hiding in peaceful Norway. We read as he discovers the mystery behind his Grandfathers disappearance and what really happened the day of his car crash eight years ago. The characters are enigmatic and the storyline engaging. With a cliff-hanger ending it leaves the reader yearning for the next chapter of William Wenton.
Show More (0)

Ratings

  • (9 Reviews)
  • (2 Reviews)
  • (0 Reviews)
  • (0 Reviews)
  • (0 Reviews)