Toppsta - Childrens Books – Reviews

Medusa: A 'beautiful and profound retelling' of Medusa's story

by
,

Medusa: A 'beautiful and profound retelling' of Medusa's story Reviews | Toppsta

Book Rating: 5 based on 3
3 Reviews
Write a Review

__________________

'Easily my read of the year. Sheer perfection from start to finish' - Catherine Doyle
'A beautiful and profound retelling' - Madeline Miller, author of CIRCE and THE SONG OF ACHILLES
'Utterly transporting ... This dynamic feminist retelling is illustrated with stunning, polychromatic power' - Guardian Books of the Year
A dazzling, feminist retelling of Greek myth from the internationally bestselling author of The Miniaturist , stunningly illustrated by Olivia Lomenech Gill.
Exiled to a far-flung island by the whims of the gods, Medusa has little company except the snakes that adorn her head instead of hair. But when a charmed, beautiful boy called Perseus arrives on the island, her lonely existence is disrupted with the force of a supernova, unleashing desire, love and betrayal...
Filled with glorious full-colour illustrations by award-winning Olivia Lomenech Gill, this astonishing retelling of Greek myth is perfect for readers of Circe and The Silence of the Girls . Illuminating the girl behind the legend, it brings alive Medusa for a new generation.
'... a must read for women of all ages' - Red Magazine
'... stole my heart from its first fierce lines' - Mary Watson
'A beautiful and compassionate retelling that gives the serpent-headed monster of myth a powerful and haunting humanity' - Jennifer Saint
'... an impressive addition to the shelves of feminist retellings, balancing rage with beautiful storytelling' - Irish Times
'It's an ideal gift for teenage girls finding their voice and their power' - Stylist 'Gift ideas for the book lovers in your life'

Medusa: A 'beautiful and profound retelling' of Medusa's story Reviews | Toppsta

9781408886939

Share on

Featured Book
Beyond the Frozen Horizon
Beyond the Frozen Horizon

BOOK OF THE MONTH - A thrilling and thought-provoking ecological adventure from the author of Between Sea and Sky. Perfect for fans of The Explorer by Katherine Rundell and The Last Wild by Piers Torday.

View book
Featured Books

Videos

If you would like to provide a video review please sign up to our video panel.

youtube video play button

Sign up to our newsletter for...

Free Book Giveaways, Recommendations & more

Show More (0)
ajax loader

REVIEWER'S AGE

   
Age 16
Featured Book
Beyond the Frozen Horizon
Beyond the Frozen Horizon

BOOK OF THE MONTH - A thrilling and thought-provoking ecological adventure from the author of Between Sea and Sky. Perfect for fans of The Explorer by Katherine Rundell and The Last Wild by Piers Torday.

View book
Featured Books

About Jessie Burton

Jessie Burton was born in 1982 and went to school in south London. Her favourite subjects were story writing, sleeping and ice-cream eating. After studying at Oxford University she went on to the Royal Central School of Speech and Drama. She worked as an actress and a PA before her first novel, The Miniaturist, was published. The Miniaturist was translated i

More about Jessie Burton

Ratings

  • (2 Reviews)
  • (1 Reviews)
  • (0 Reviews)
  • (0 Reviews)
  • (0 Reviews)