Toppsta - Childrens Books – Reviews

The Weight of a Thousand Feathers

by

The Weight of a Thousand Feathers Reviews | Toppsta

Book Rating: 5 based on 14
14 Reviews
Write a Review

WINNER OF THE AN POST IRISH BOOK AWARDS TEEN & YOUNG ADULT BOOK OF THE YEAR 2018
LONGLISTED FOR THE CILIP CARNEGIE MEDAL 2019

Angry, stirring and tender, this is a bold, questioning exploration of the lengths to which we'll go for the people we love. From the Costa Children's Book Award winning author of When Mr Dog Bites and The Bombs That Brought Us Together.
Bobby Seed has questions. What's another word for 'thesaurus'? How can I tell Bel I want her as my girl friend, not my girlfriend? How much pain is Mum in today? Has she taken her pills? And sometimes, secretly, Why us?
Bobby's little brother Danny has questions too. Will Bobby let him have Rice Krispies for dinner? And can he stay up late on the computer? And why won't Mum's stupid illness just GO AWAY?
But it's Mum's question for Bobby that could turn everything on its head. It's the Big One. The Unthinkable One. If Bobby agrees, he won't just be soothing her pain. He'll be helping to end it.
Would he? Could he?
Perfect for readers of Patrick Ness and Malorie Blackman.

The Weight of a Thousand Feathers Reviews | Toppsta

9781408871539

Share on

Featured Book
Tyrannosaurus Rex
Tyrannosaurus Rex

BOOK OF THE MONTH - TV Scientist Ben Garrod presents this infamous dinosaur as you've never seen it before. A brilliant reference title with full colour illustrations for ages 9+

View book
Featured Books

Additional Resources

Videos

If you would like to provide a video review please sign up to our video panel.

Sign up to our newsletter for...

Free Book Giveaways, Recommendations & more

Show More (0)
ajax loader

REVIEWER'S AGE

             
Age 9 11 12 13 14 15
Featured Book
Tyrannosaurus Rex
Tyrannosaurus Rex

BOOK OF THE MONTH - TV Scientist Ben Garrod presents this infamous dinosaur as you've never seen it before. A brilliant reference title with full colour illustrations for ages 9+

View book
Featured Books

About Brian Conaghan

Brian Conaghan was born in 1971. He was raised in the Scottish town of Coatbridge but now lives and works as a teacher in Dublin. He is the author of The Boy Who Made It Rain and has a Master of Letters in Creative Writing from the University of Glasgow. Over the years Brian has made his dosh as a painter and decorator, a barman, a DJ, an actor, a teacher an

More about Brian Conaghan

Ratings

  • (10 Reviews)
  • (3 Reviews)
  • (1 Reviews)
  • (0 Reviews)
  • (0 Reviews)