Toppsta - Childrens Books – Reviews

The Weight of a Thousand Feathers

by

The Weight of a Thousand Feathers Reviews | Toppsta

Book Rating: 5 based on 1
1 Review
Write a Review

Angry and irreverent, tender and poignant - this is a bold exploration of the lengths to which we'll go for the ones we love. From the Costa Children's Award winning author of When Mr Dog Bites and The Bombs That Brought Us Together. Perfect for readers of Patrick Ness and Malorie Blackman.

'Funny how no one ever uses the word `love' when discussing my case. I do what I do because she's my mum. That pure and that simple.'

Bobby Seed is used to going the extra mile for the ones he loves, and he does it willingly. It's up to Bobby to get Mum her pills, to help her up the stairs, to laugh her out of her pain. It's up to Bobby to comfort his little brother Danny, to explain why Mum's not like the Mum they remember.

One day, he's asked to go further. Mum asks him the big question. The one many would find unthinkable. If he agrees, he won't just be soothing her pain. He'll be helping to end it.

Would he? Could he?

The Weight of a Thousand Feathers Reviews | Toppsta

9781408871539
  • ISBN: 9781408871539
  • Pub Date: 14th June 2018
  • Publisher: Bloomsbury Publishing PLC
  • Imprint: Bloomsbury YA
  • Format: Hardback
  • Number of Pages: 368

Share on

Sign up to our newsletter for...

Free Book Giveaways, Recommendations & more

11th October '18
I read it myself (an adult)
The Weight of a Thousand Feathers 9781408871539
5 stars
17 year old Bobby Seed has too much on his plate. Any time not spent at school doing A Levels is spent at home looking after his mother, who suffers from MS, and his younger brother Danny, who has his own needs. 

When Bobby's school counsellor suggests he joins a young carers' support group, he is torn between the desire to have some time away from his responsibilities and the guilt at not being there for his family. He decides to give it a go - with his best friend Bel helping out at home while he's away. 

And so he meets a group of scared and lost teens, hiding their fear behind a wall of cynicism. On top of everything else, Bobby finds himself falling for the group's American bad boy, Lou - he's never really had the luxury of time nor headspace to even think about romance before. But then his mother asks him to do something for her, and Bobby Seed is never the same again.

The Weight of a Thousand Feathers was an emotional and powerful read - not surprising given the topic. What was surprising was just how much humour there was in the book. A large part of how Bobby related to his Mum and to Bel was through humour - who would have thought that the last line of a book about teen carers and euthanasia would make me laugh out loud?! 

Early on I was struck by the realisation that I am of a similar age to Bobby's mum - same taste in music, same cultural references - which helped crank up the empathy on my part

This book could be a powerful aid in an ethics class on euthanasia, but definitely one for older students: on top of some very upsetting interactions between Bobby and his mum, there are also a few scenes of drug taking. I would definitely recommend this book to older teens who like to keep a box of tissues handy when reading!
Show More (0)

Ratings

    5 stars
  • (1 Reviews)
  • (0 Reviews)
  • (0 Reviews)
  • (0 Reviews)
  • (0 Reviews)