Toppsta - Childrens Books – Reviews

A Drowned Maiden's Hair: A Melodrama

by

Write a Review

By Newbery Medallist Laura Amy Schlitz. "People throw the word 'classic' about a lot, but A Drowned Maiden's Hair genuinely deserves to become one." Wall Street Journal

Maud Flynn is known at the orphanage for her impertinence. So when the charming Miss Hyacinth chooses her to take home, the girl is pleased but baffled, until she learns of her new role: helping to stage elaborate seances for bereaved patrons. As Maud is drawn deeper into the deception, playing the "secret child", she is torn between her need to please and her growing conscience. It takes a shocking betrayal to make clear just how heartless her so-called guardians are. Filled with fascinating details of turn-of-the-century spiritualism and page-turning suspense, this novel from Newbery Medallist Laura Amy Schlitz features a feisty heroine whom readers will not soon forget.

A Drowned Maiden's Hair: A Melodrama Reviews | Toppsta

9781406354164

Share on

Featured Book
Book pages Fire Boy
Fire Boy

Fire Boy is a laugh-out-loud story about friendship, unexpected superpowers, magical sweets, Inca legends and a cat named Lemon - perfect for fans of My Brother is A Superhero and The Parent Agency.

View book

Videos

If you would like to provide a video review please sign up to our video panel.

Category

See More Historical fiction

See More Family & home stories

Sign up to our newsletter for...

Free Book Giveaways, Recommendations & more

Be the first to write a Review


No one has written a review for 'A Drowned Maiden's Hair: A Melodrama'

Why not be the first to share your opinion?

Featured Book
Book pages Fire Boy
Fire Boy

Fire Boy is a laugh-out-loud story about friendship, unexpected superpowers, magical sweets, Inca legends and a cat named Lemon - perfect for fans of My Brother is A Superhero and The Parent Agency.

View book

About Laura Amy Schlitz

Laura Amy Schlitz, author of Fire Spell, A Drowned Maiden's Hair and the Newbery Medal-winner Good Masters! Sweet Ladies!: Voices from a Medieval Village has spent most of her life working as a librarian and professional storyteller. She has also written plays for young people that have been performed in professional theatres all over the US. She lives in Ba

More about Laura Amy Schlitz

Books by this author

Ratings

  • (0 Reviews)
  • (0 Reviews)
  • (0 Reviews)
  • (0 Reviews)
  • (0 Reviews)