Toppsta - Childrens Books – Reviews

Why Everyone Loves Toto The Ninja Cat

Test

Our readers love the Toto the Ninja Cat series! The feline adventures of Toto and her brother Silver are written by much-loved broadcaster Dermot O'Leary and illustrated by reader-favourite Nick East. 

They are brilliant first chapter books for kids 7+ with gripping plots and illustrations that really bring the exciting stories to life.

But what is it about the series that kids love? Here's what Toppsta readers had to say:

"I love Toto as she's an amazing ninja. I really can't wait to read more of the adventures they will get up too"
Leximoo, aged 7

"I loved the funny characters, all the books are really good, but this one has been the funniest!" 
JJ, aged 9

"The illustrations are fun and energetic.  They go really well with this action-packed adventure story. I couldn't put the book down!" 
Missladybird, aged 8

"Toto is an amazing book it's unusual in some places and exciting in others... I loved it." 
Agentz, aged 9

"I really liked this story, it was funny and full of adventure. I liked that there were pictures along with the story and really like that Toto is based on the author's own cat!!"
Will_C, aged 7

"It's a really exciting book that I wanted to keep reading. I have bought the next one I liked it so much. The pictures are 10/10 fun."
Amelie, aged 6

"I liked this book because it makes me laugh. I would tell other little boys and girls to go buy this book." FrankieS, aged 9

"This book made me laugh out loud and cry at the same time. I have a cat called Florence and I often wonder what goes on behind her eyes. Now I know ::)"
Amieneve0303, aged 9

"My class of 8 year olds have been queueing up to read this book. The blend of pictures and illustrations captivated their imaginations. Toto's ninja skills were a hit with the whole class."
Teacher of Barracudakids 6-11

Toppsta
2020-09-02
Why Everyone Loves Toto The Ninja Cat

In the latest book in the series, The Mystery Jewel Thief, Toto and her friends are tasked with looking after the French Ambassador to Animals, taking him on a sightseeing trip through London. When they end up at the Tower of London, they discover a sacred diamond cat collar has gone missing.

Somehow Toto and her boss Larry are suspects in the crime, and it's down to Toto and Silver to clear their names and uncover the real jewel thief, following clues that take them across all of London.

Read an extract of book 4, The Mystery Jewel Thief, here plus get a sneak peek of some of the awesome illustrations below.

Toppsta
2020-09-02
Why Everyone Loves Toto The Ninja Cat
Toto and her friends enjoy a night off before their next mission
Toto finds out more about the case.
Book pages Placeholder Book

Toto the Ninja Cat and the Mystery Jewel Thief: Book 4

Toto is no ordinary cat, and she can't wait for you to join her on her FOURTH ninja adventure! From one of the UK's best-loved broadcasters, purrfect for fans of The Aristocats, The Secret Life of Pets and Atticus Claw Breaks the Law.

Toto and her friends are due to be looking after the French ambassador on a day of sightseeing, finishing at the Tower of London to see the animal world's crown jewels: a sacred diamond cat collar.

But when they arrive, the collar has disappeared - and what's worse, it looks like Toto's boss Larry is responsible, with Toto as his accomplice! Toto is almost arrested, but she escapes to try and get to the bottom of the mystery and clear her name.

She and her friends will have to follow some strange clues that will take them to a secret bookshop, Buckingham Palace and the rats' underground city in the sewers... Can they defeat an unexpected villain and bring the thief to justice?

Ideal for reading aloud or for children to curl up with and read alone, the story features brilliant black and white illustrations throughout. With gentle themes of friendship, inclusivity and winning in the face of adversity, this is a hilarious must-read for all animal-loving kids!

Dermot says: ' The idea for Toto first came to me when my wife and I rescued two stray cats from an olive grove in Italy. One of them, Toto, has been blind from birth, but we quickly realised she had ninja-like reactions. Like a lot of cat owners (or cat servants), we like to imagine our pets having secret lives when we're out or asleep. So before I knew it I was writing about Toto and her brother Silver's nocturnal adventures around London. I really hope that children who pick it up enjoy reading the adventures of our little Italian underdog (cat).'

Have you read Toto's other adventures: The Great Snake Escape , The Incredible Cheese Heist and The Superstar Catastrophe ?

View Book COMPARE PRICES

2nd September 2020

Share this read with others...

Tweet Email