The Best Teen and YA New Releases

Test

Thanks to the rise of BookTok, YA and teen books have never been hotter. And this year, so many brilliant new titles have made their way on to our TBR list, from epic fantasy and romantasy to stories rooted in the push and pull of everyday life, from debut authors to well-known bestselling names.

Here are our favourite YA and teen books this year that you simply cannot miss.

Toppsta
2024-03-31
The Best Teen and YA New Releases
Book pages Placeholder Book

Goddess Crown

The royal court of Galla is as dangerous as it is glamorous... Kalothia will need every ounce of courage and wit, if she is to avenge those she loves ... and stay alive.

Kalothia has grown up in the shadows of her kingdom, hidden away in the East after her parents were outed as enemies of the king. When assassins attack her home on her sixteenth birthday, she must flee to the king’s court – a beautiful but lethal nest of poison, plots and danger, overseen by an entrenched patriarchy. Can Kalothia navigate this most worldly of places to find her own role? What if she must choose between her country and her heart?

A fast-paced, romantic and feminist YA fantasy full of danger and courtly intrigue.

View Book COMPARE PRICES
Book pages Placeholder Book

Catch Your Death

Trapped in a mansion with a murderer and a family of liars - how would you survive? A mind-blowing thriller from the author of This Book Kills, perfect for fans of Holly Jackson and Karen McManus.

When three girls are stranded at the grand Bramble Estate in the middle of a snowstorm, they stumble into a murder plot. Someone has poisoned wealthy Emily Vanforte in the middle of a family dinner - which means Devi, Lizzie and Jayne are trapped in the house with a killer and a mystery to solve. With knives under floorboards, vanishing guns and secret passages in the walls, no one is safe and everyone is a suspect. But in a house of liars and corruption, will the girls save themselves...or learn to fit in?

View Book COMPARE PRICES
Book pages Placeholder Book

Elsewhere: From the author of no. 1 bestseller Tomorrow, and Tomorrow, and Tomorrow

From the acclaimed author of Sunday Times no. 1 bestseller Tomorrow, and Tomorrow, and Tomorrow, a YA novel of hope, love and redemption about Liz's life after life. 


Welcome to Elsewhere. It is warm, with a breeze, and the beaches are beautiful. It's quiet and peaceful. You can't get sick and you can't get older. In Elsewhere, death is only the beginning… Elsewhere is where fifteen-year-old Liz Hall ends up, after she is killed in a hit-and-run accident. It is a place very like Earth, yet completely different. Here Liz will age backwards from the day of her death until she becomes a baby again and returns to Earth. But Liz wants to turn sixteen, not fourteen again. She wants to get her driving licence. She wants to graduate from high school and go to college. She doesn't want to get to know a grandmother she's never met before and have to make all-new friends. How can Liz let go of the only life she has ever known and embrace a new one? Or is it possible that a life lived in reverse is no different from a life lived forward?

View Book COMPARE PRICES
Book pages Placeholder Book

Lost Days

Do it yourself; think for yourself; be yourself. The iconic, free-spirited, rebellious and bestselling YA graphic novel series, Emily the Strange is a cult classic: perfect for fans of Wednesday and Heartstopper.

Emily is not your average thirteen-year-old girl. She wears the same black dress every day. She loves maths and science. Her best friends are four black cats and she's into old rock and punk music. Emily is anything but typical and so is this exciting series of novels about her life.

View Book COMPARE PRICES
Book pages Placeholder Book

The Blind Bowman 1: Shadow of the Wolf

ROBIN HOOD IS TRANSFORMED. 


Blinded by the Sheriff, he takes refuge in the ancient heart of Sherwood Forest, where primal powers and forgotten magicks reach out to him. But the wildwood itself is under threat, and the old gods face extinction. Only the blind bowman, Robin Hood, together with his soulmate, Marian, can stand against the forces of darkness . . .

View Book COMPARE PRICES
Book pages Placeholder Book

On Silver Tides

Full of heart, drama and beauty, this sweeping fantasy inspired by ancient folklore will draw you into a secret world within Britain’s waterways.


Kelda has always protected her little sister Isla from danger on the rivers, and from the suspicions of their community. For Isla cannot breathe underwater – and so her very existence is forbidden by silvermen’s Lore. Now the rivers of England are growing sick: monstrous creatures are awakening and a fierce torrent of blame falls upon Kelda’s family. When betrayal comes, the sisters escape on a desperate journey upstream. Joining forces with a mysterious boy, Kelda discovers the darkest depths of her kind’s secret history. But to save both her sister and the very life of Britain’s waterways, Kelda will have to make a sacrifice – one that will change her life forever. 

View Book COMPARE PRICES
Book pages Placeholder Book

EchoStar: Is Always Listening

Bestselling YA author Melinda Salisbury exposes the dark underbelly of new technologies and online friendships in this gripping thriller.

Ruby Brookes and her best friend Deva have won free places at the Ash Tree Foundation Performing Arts Camp over the summer, but only if their school grades seriously improve. So when Deva suddenly starts getting high marks in all their subjects, leaving Ruby behind, she is confused and jealous.

Until she finds out Deva's success is down to EchoStar, a new app that's helping her get ahead.

Ruby is desperate to start using it too, but there is much more to EchoStar than she has imagined. Because EchoStar is always watching and listening …

View Book COMPARE PRICES
Book pages Placeholder Book

Northern Soul

From award-winning author Phil Earle comes the hilariously agonising account of one teenage boy’s disastrous attempts to win the heart of the cool new girl at school.

Marv’s fourteen and his life is simple. There’s football. And his best mate, Jimmy. Perfect.

Nothing else matters until a new girl at school called Carly crashes into his life. For Marv, it’s love at first sight, his emotions flipped upside down, as he knows a girl like Carly will never notice him.

He needs help – lots of it – but when it miraculously arrives in the shape of a musical idol from the past, the path to Carly’s heart proves anything but easy…

First love is unforgettable, and poor Marv is about to learn this the hard way – him, and his northern soul…

View Book COMPARE PRICES
Book pages Placeholder Book

Memoirs of a Teenage Amnesiac: From the author of no. 1 bestseller Tomorrow, and Tomorrow, and Tomorrow

Who are you at 16, if you can't remember anything about your life since you were 12? A brilliant exploration of identity and love for YA readers, by the bestselling author of Tomorrow, and Tomorrow, and Tomorrow. 


After an accident that leaves her with partial amnesia, Naomi tries to piece together the fragments of the last three-and-a-half years of her life. She discovers that she has a tennis-champion boyfriend but can't remember him, is co-editor of the yearbook with a quirky guy who wears a smoking jacket, her parents are divorced, and she apparently hates her mother. She has friends who simply don't seem that attractive any more and, despite having meticulously kept a diary during the now-lost years, she only wrote about what she ate every day in it! But when a girl loses three-and-a-half years, she gets a chance to reinvent herself. After all, who is to say that everything has to stay the same?

View Book COMPARE PRICES
Book pages Placeholder Book

Compass and Blade

Get ready to be swept away. An irresistible YA romantasy – perfect for fans of Alexandra Christo, Sarah Underwood and Shelby Mahurin

Mira is a wrecker, one of the seven chosen to swim out and plunder the wrecked ships beyond the Isle of Rosevear. The waves sing to her soul, the call of the sea beckoning her into deeper waters. But Rosevear needs her, and she could never abandon her home. Until one evening when lightning splits the sky and the Watch descend, taking Mira’s father away.

Mira must set off on a journey to win back her father’s freedom. She will encounter two strangers along the way – enigmatic Seth and smouldering Elijah – and learning who to trust will not be easy. When she discovers a dark family secret, buried deep in the ocean, Mira finds that securing her future – and that of her island – will come at a high price . . .

View Book COMPARE PRICES
Book pages Placeholder Book

Where Sleeping Girls Lie

A haunting and compulsive new Dark Academia mystery of secrets, lies and revenge, from the award-winning, bestselling author of Ace of Spades, Faridah Àbíké-Íyímídé. Perfect for fans of Holly Jackson and Maureen Johnson.

Sade Hussein is the new girl at the prestigious Alfred Nobel Academy. She has no idea what to expect of her mysterious new boarding school - an institution steeped in tradition and secrets. But she certainly didn't imagine her roommate, Elizabeth, to go missing on her first night. Or for people to think Sade had something to do with it.


And then a student is found dead.

It's clear there's more to Alfred Nobel Academy and its students than Sade could have imagined - secrets lurk around every corner and beneath every surface...secrets that rival even her own.

View Book COMPARE PRICES
Book pages Placeholder Book

Little Bang

A bittersweet Northern Irish romance that takes a new look at teen pregnancy, the magic and mess of first relationships, and a young woman's right to choose her own future.

Beneath the New Year's Eve fireworks, shy science-nerd Mel and slacker songwriter Sid get pregnant on their first date. Any sixteen-year-olds would expect trouble – but this is Northern Ireland 2018, where abortion is still illegal. Mel's religious parents insist she must keep the baby, whilst Sid's feminist mum pushes for a termination.

Mel and Sid are determined to do this together, but their relationship starts to fall apart under all the pressure. Mel finds herself feeling alone with the impossible dilemma of the Little Bang growing inside her.

View Book COMPARE PRICES

First published

Updated:

Share this read with others...

Tweet Email