Toppsta - Childrens Books – Reviews

Graphic Novels for Kids

Graphic Novels

Many parents think that they have a 'reluctant reader' when really they just have a reader who prefers books with more visual content, what a call a 'visual reader'.

Graphic novels are stories written and illustrated like a comic. They are fast-paced, often funny and hugely popular with many children and not just 'reluctant' readers.

Some parents may worry that graphic novels are “easy” reads or that it is “not real reading” but we completely disagree! They are a great way to grow confidence in reading, help show children that reading can be enjoyable and there are a number of graphic novels on serious topics too.

Graphic novels are enjoying a huge resurgence amongst readers which means there are lots to choose from, from awesome superheroes to silly humour, and many popular series also have graphic novel versions available.

Toppsta
2024-01-02
Graphic Novels for Kids

new graphic novels 2024

Toppsta
2024-01-02
Graphic Novels for Kids
Book pages Placeholder Book

Stitch Head: The Graphic Novel

JANUARY - The first book in the best-selling, laugh-out-loud STITCH HEAD series by award-winning author Guy Bass, with illustrations by Pete Williamson, now brought to almost-life again in this brand-new, monstrously magnificent graphic novel edition.

Enter the darkly funny world of Stitch Head, as he steps out of the shadows into the adventure of an almost-lifetime…

View Book COMPARE PRICES
Book pages Placeholder Book

Bunny vs Monkey: Bunny Bonanza!

JANUARY - Monkey and the gang are on a hunt to find Bunny, after he mysteriously disappeared . . . On their search they'll be bamboozled by Old Bunny, Neanderbunny, the mysterious Shadow Bunny and the always-confusing Not Bunny. Will they ever find their faithful friend? It's a rollicking race to the rightful rabbit in this cornucopia of chuckles!

View Book COMPARE PRICES
Book pages Placeholder Book

Pablo and Splash: the hilarious kids' graphic novel

JANUARY - Join time-travelling penguins Pablo and Splash on an unexpected adventure to the time of the dinosaurs in this brilliantly funny full-colour graphic novel. Perfect for fans of Bunny vs Monkey and Bumble and Snug. Antarctic penguins Pablo and Splash are polar opposites and besties for life. Pablo is a home-bird and a careful planner. Splash is easily bored and hungry for adventure. Sick to her flippers of the harsh, freezing weather, Splash persuades Pablo to go on a holiday with her. But far from the luxury beach destination that Splash has in mind, the pair end up in a time-travel machine that takes them back to the age of the dinosaurs! Suddenly their icy homeland doesn't seem so dull … A fantastically funny, full-colour graphic novel about time-travelling penguins, which young fans of Dog Man or Bumble and Snug will love. This is the first book in a series and further time-travel adventures await for Pablo and Splash.

View Book COMPARE PRICES
Book pages Placeholder Book

Winter Turning (Wings of Fire Graphic Novel #7)

JANUARY - The graphic novel adaptations of the #1 New York Times bestselling Wings of Fire series continue to set the world on fire! Daring mission... or deadly mistake? Winter has been a disappointment to his royal IceWing family his whole life. When his sister, Icicle, runs away from Jade Mountain Academy, fleeing terrible crimes and possibly planning to commit more, Winter knows that they both need a second chance to make things right - if only he can find her. Winter's new clawmates, Moon, Qibli, and Kinkajou, won't let him make this dangerous journey alone. They don't seem to understand that IceWings, the most superior of all dragon tribes, can fix their own problems. When their search leads the dragonets straight into Queen Scarlet's vicious talons, Winter is grateful to have some help. But even the bravest dragons can't follow him to the Ice Kingdom, where he'll have to face the greatest threat of all: his own family. An epic dragon fantasy series for 9+ readers With vibrant and captivating illustrations by Mike Holmes, this is a one-of-a-kind reading experience The Wings of Fire series has been a New York Times bestseller

View Book COMPARE PRICES
Book pages Placeholder Book

BSCG #15: Claudia and The Bad Joke

JANUARY - A brand-new Baby-sitters Club graphic novel adapted by newcomer Arley Nopra! Claudia isn't worried when she hears her newest baby-sitting charge, Betsy Sobak, is a big practical joker. After all, how much harm can one little girl do? Plenty. Claudia breaks her leg as a result of one of Betsy's jokes. Now Claudia is feeling like baby-sitting might be too dangerous and she's talking about quitting the club! Kristy thinks Betsy needs to be taught a lesson, and that the baby-sitters are just the ones to do it. Watch out, Betsy Sobak. The joke war is on! A brand-new story from the original author  The series that has been entertaining children for generations Full-colour graphic novel with art from new talent, Arley Nopra

View Book COMPARE PRICES
Book pages Placeholder Book

Waverider

FEBRUARY - The highly anticipated, thrilling conclusion to Kazu Kibuishi's #1 New York Times bestselling series! After her confrontation with Ikol, Emily finally understands the stone's power and what she must do to defend Alledia from the shadows. As she travels to Typhon to help her mom and Navin, Prince Trellis returns to the Kingdom of the Elves to save his countrymen -- and confront the fraud who has seized power in the absence of a king. The threat of darkness follows all Stonekeepers closely, and it will take the strength of both new friends and old foes to conquer it... and survive.

View Book COMPARE PRICES
Book pages Placeholder Book

Unicorn Boy: Book 1

MARCH - UNICORN BOY is the first in a colourful, hilarious and heartwarming graphic novel series about a shy kid who unwillingly sprouts a unicorn horn and uses his newfound magical powers to help those in need! Perfect for fans of Jamie Smart or those moving on from Dog Man.

View Book COMPARE PRICES
Book pages Placeholder Book

Dog Man 12: The Scarlet Shedder

MARCH - Our canine superhero returns in DOG MAN: THE SCARLET SHEDDER, the suspenseful and hilarious twelfth graphic novel in the #1 worldwide bestselling series by award-winning author and illustrator Dav Pilkey! P.U.! Dog Man got sprayed by a skunk! After being dunked in tomato juice, the stink is gone but the scarlet red colour remains. Now exiled, this spunky superhero must struggle to save the citizens who shunned him! Will the ends justify the means for Petey, who's reluctantly pulled back into a life of crime in order to help Dog Man? And who will step forward when an all-new, never-before-seen villain unleashes an army of A.I. robots? The fun and creativity continue with Dog Man with Love: The Official Colouring Book. And for more heartfelt graphic novel adventures, join Flippy and Li'l Petey in the Cat Kid Comic Club series. And don't forget the series that started it all: Captain Underpants! Dav Pilkey's wildly popular Dog Man series appeals to readers of all ages and explores universally positive themes, including: empathy kindness persistence and the importance of doing good. Full colour pages throughout.

View Book COMPARE PRICES
Book pages Placeholder Book

Agent Harrier: This Book Will Self-Destruct

APRIL - This book will explode in 5 minutes. NO TIME TO LOSE! Agent Harrier must follow the red wire and diffuse the bomb before it’s too late. Will our canine spy extraordinaire save everyone from being blasted to smithereens? And just WHO planted the wretched bomb in the first place?! Be careful not to bark up the wrong tree, Harrier – it looks like something very fishy could be *ahem* apaw . . . 

 

This stylish graphic novel is a funny, punny twist on the traditional spy caper. The first in a series by award-winning illustrator Ben Sanders (Clive Penguin), it’s perfect for early readers transitioning from picture books.

View Book COMPARE PRICES

Graphic Novel Series for Ages 5+

Bumble and Snug by Mark Bradley (Hachette)

Peanut Butter and Crackers by Paige Braddock (Nosy Crow)

Press Start! by Thomas Flintham(Nosy Crow)

Narhwal and Jelly by Ben Clanton (Harper)

Princess Minna by Kirsty Applebaum and Sahar Haghgoo(Nosy Crow)

Princess in Black by Shannon Hale, Dean Hale and LeUyen Pham (Walker)

Pizazz by Sophy Henn (Harper)

Happy Hills by Sophy Henn (Simon & Schuster)
Max Chaffy by Jamie Smart (David Fickling)
Toppsta
2024-01-02
Graphic Novels for Kids

GRAPHIC NOVEL series FOR AGES 7+

Dog Man by Dav Pilkey (Scholastic)

Bunny vs Monkey by Jamie Smart (David Fickling)

Evil Emperor Penguin by Laura Ellen Anderson (David Fickling)

Investigators by John Patrick Green (Macmillan)

Barb the Brave by Dan and Jason (Simon and Schuster)

Castronauts by Drew Brockington (Little, Brown)

Captain Underpants by Dav Pilkey (Scholastic)

Hilda Comic Series by Luke Pearson (Flying Eye)

Looshkin by Jamie Smart (David Fickling)

Mega Robo Bros by Neill Cameron (David Fickling)

Captain Underpants by Dav Pilkey (Scholastic)

Agents of S.U.I.T. by John Patrick Green (Macmillan)

Barb the Brave by Dan Abdo and Jason Patterson (Simon & Schuster)

Comic Classics by Jack Noel (Farshore)

Cat Kid Comic Club by Dav Pilkey (Scholastic)

Roy of the Rovers by Rob Williams and David Sque (Rebellion)

Asterix by Rene Goscinny (Hachette)

Usborne Graphic Novels (Usborne)

Pea, Bee, & Jay by Brian Smitty Smith (Harper)

Bird & Squirrel by Jame Burks (Scholastic)

Corpse Talk by Adam Murphy and Lisa Murphy (David Fickling)

Agent Moose by Mo O’Hara and Jess Bradley (Felwel and Friends)

Agent Harrier by Ben Sanders (Little Tiger)

Kitty Quest by Phil Corbett (Simon & Schuster)

Baloney and Friends by Greg Pizzoli (Hachette)

Toppsta
2024-01-02
Graphic Novels for Kids

GRAPHIC NOVEL SERIES FOR AGES 9+

Big Nate by Lincoln Peirce (HarperCollins)

The Last Kids on Earth by Max Braillier (Farshore)

The Adventures of Tintin by Herge (Farshore)

Flember by Jamie Smart (David Fickling)

Warriors Manga by Erin Hunter (Harper)

Amulet by Kazu Kibuishi (Scholastic)

Alex Rider Graphic Novels by Anthony Horowitz and Kanako Yuzuru (Walker)

Artemis Fowl Graphic Novels by Eoin Colfer & Various (Puffin)

Percy Jackson Graphic Novels by Rick Riordan & (Puffin)

Famous Five Graphic Novels by Enid Blyton (Hachette)

Classics Illustrated by Various (Classic Comic Store)

Frankie’s World by Aoife Dooley (Scholastic)

Good Dog, Bad Dog by (David Fickling)

Wings of Fire by Tui T. Sutherland and Mike Holmes (Scholastic)

Graphic Novels by Jerry Craft (Harper)

Toppsta
2024-01-02
Graphic Novels for Kids

21st December 2023

Share this read with others...

Tweet Email