Toppsta - Childrens Books – Reviews

View all Blogs
Featured Book
Eddie Albert and the Amazing Animal Gang: The Amsterdam Adventure
Eddie Albert and the Amazing Animal Gang: The Amsterdam Adventure

BOOK OF THE MONTH: The hilarious and action-packed middle grade adventure from beloved comedian and bestselling author Paul O’Grady. Perfect for ages 8+

View book
Featured Books

Best books by age

Graphic Novels for Kids

Graphic Novels

Many parents think that they have a 'reluctant reader' when really they just have a reader who prefers books with more visual content.

Graphic novels, for those of you who don’t know, are stories written and illustrated like a comic. They are fast-paced, often funny and many are wildly popular.

Some parents may worry that graphic novels are “easy” reads or that it is “not real reading” but we completely disagree! Kids love this format and these books also encourage budding artists who will often copy the illustrations and make their own comics or graphic novels at home. I speak from experience of my own seven-year-old comic fan!

Graphic novels are a great way for more visual learners to engage with books and reading. In fact, they can be a secret weapon in encouraging children to read more. They are also fun and usually part of a series, which is always a bonus for parents trying to find the next book for little book monsters. 

Graphic novels are enjoying a huge resurgence amongst readers which means there are lots to choose from, from awesome superheroes to silly humour, and many popular series also have graphic novel versions available.

Explore our list of recommendations below to discover some of the fantastic graphic novels out there from new series like Dog Man to old favourites like Asterix.

Toppsta
2021-09-07
Graphic Novels for Kids
Book pages Placeholder Book

Bumble and Snug and the Angry Pirates: Book 1

Best friends Bumble and Snug are Bugbops - little monsters filled with BIG feelings! Join them on imaginative comic adventures while they encounter pirates, unicorns, ghosts and lots of other magical creatures, learning about the world outside and inside along the way.

Bumble and Snug are going on a big adventure to ... have a picnic! But when they accidentally get lost, they're both cross - is their adventure ruined?

Working together to find their way home, Bumble and Snug come across a pirate treasure horde. But taking treasure that isn't yours is a good way to get into trouble, and sure enough some VERY angry pirates aren't far behind.

Bumble and Snug are certain they can replace the treasure, and fix things to make everybody happy. But there's another monstrous obstacle in store - and this one has TENTACLES.

Bumble and Snug and the Angry Pirates is a story about being cross and how to listen, friendship and sandcastles, and one GIANT octopus!

Perfect for readers just starting to enjoy stories independently, and for kids to share with their grown-ups. For fans of Narwhal and Jelly and Mr Men .

View Book COMPARE PRICES
Book pages Placeholder Book

Bunny vs Monkey and the League of Doom!

This brand new remastered book collects together Bunny vs Monkey 5: Destructo and Bunny vs Monkey 6: Apocalypse for the first time. Since he crash-landed to Earth in a rocket, Monkey has been causing absolute mayhem! Bunny and the gang (Squirrel, Pig [the Pig], Action Beaver, and Skunky the Inventor) have almost had enough. Monkey's eternal struggle for world domination is getting more ridiculous every day, and it's impossible to predict which bizarre plan he's going to put into action next... In this comic extravaganza, the pint-sized friends must face a giant robot whale, a pig cannon, a camping trip that goes wrong... oh, and the actual end of the world! Can Bunny and Co stop the apocalypse before it's too late?!

View Book COMPARE PRICES
Book pages Placeholder Book

Comic Classics: Treasure Island

OLD books get NEW doodles - it's the classics as you've never seen them before!

A hilarious new series that brings the classics to life with illustrations by Jack Noel. Perfect for 7-9 year olds and fans of Tom Gates, Wimpy Kid and Dav Pilkey. And PIRATES.

Get your HOOKS into the one and only original pirate adventure!

Jim Hawkins spends his life helping out at his mum's boring old inn by the sea, wishing he could sail away and have adventures. But when an old sea captain turns up with a secret, it's the start of a bigger adventure than Jim could ever have imagined - soon he's on a ship on the trail of buried treasure, accompanied by a suspicious sailor named Long John Silver ... Will Jim escape the pirates? Or will he walk the plank?

Climb aboard with Jim, a chatty parrot and a bunch of crazy pirates for a hilarious adventure across the seven seas.

View Book COMPARE PRICES
Book pages Placeholder Book

InvestiGators

They're Alligators - and Investigators! InvestiGators written and illustrated by John Patrick Green is the full colour, laugh-out-loud series perfect for emerging readers and fans of Dav Pilkey's Dog Man.

Mango and Brash are the InvestiGators: sewer-loving agents of S.U.I.T. and scourge of supervillains everywhere!

With their Very Exciting Spy Technology and their tried-and-true, toilet-based travel techniques, the InvestiGators are undercover and on the case! And on their first mission together, they have not one but two mysteries to solve!

Can Mango and Brash uncover the clues, crack their cases, and corral the crooks? Or will the criminals wriggle out of their grasp?

View Book COMPARE PRICES
Book pages Placeholder Book

Alice in Wonderland Graphic Novel

When Alice journeys down the rabbit hole, she finds herself in a strange and magical world. A mad hatter, an invisible Cheshire cat and a crazy caterpillar are just some of the extraordinary characters Alice encounters in this fantastical land. Follow Alice's amazing adventures in this beautiful graphic version of Lewis Carroll's timeless fantasy.

View Book COMPARE PRICES
Book pages Placeholder Book

Heartstopper Volume Four

*Soon to be a live-action Netflix series!* Boy meets boy. Boys become friends. Boys fall in love. The bestselling LGBTQ+ graphic novel about life, love, and everything that happens in between: this is the fourth volume of HEARTSTOPPER, for fans of The Art of Being Normal , Holly Bourne and Love, Simon .

'Absolutely delightful. Sweet, romantic, kind. Beautifully paced. I loved this book.' RAINBOW ROWELL, author of Carry On

Charlie didn't think Nick could ever like him back, but now they're officially boyfriends. Charlie's beginning to feel ready to say those three little words: I love you .

Nick's been feeling the same, but he's got a lot on his mind - not least coming out to his dad, and the fact that Charlie might have an eating disorder.

As summer turns to autumn and a new school year begins, Charlie and Nick are about to learn a lot about what love means.

By Alice Oseman, winner of the YA Book Prize, Heartstopper is about love, friendship, loyalty and mental illness. It encompasses all the small stories of Nick and Charlie's lives that together make up something larger, which speaks to all of us.

'The queer graphic novel we wished we had at high school.' Gay Times

This is the fourth volume of Heartstopper , which is soon to be a live-action Netflix series.

View Book COMPARE PRICES
Book pages Placeholder Book

Asterix: Asterix and The Chieftain's Daughter: Album 38

When Adrenalin, the rebellious daughter of the great Gaulish chieftain Vercingetorix, arrives at their village, Asterix and Obelix are tasked with protecting her from the Romans chasing her. This is easier said than done though, as Adrenalin is desperate to escape!
Follow our favourite heroes as they try and reach Adrenalin before the Romans do. With trademark jokes and chaotic fight scenes, the latest instalment in this best-selling series is sure to entertain new and old fans alike.

View Book COMPARE PRICES
Book pages Placeholder Book

Cat Kid Comic Club

The perfect present for DOG MAN fans - starring some of your favourite characters from the series! Now in an epic paperback edition. Welcome to the Cat Kid Comic Club, where Li'l Petey (LP), Flippy, and Molly introduce twenty-one rambunctious, funny, and talented baby frogs to the art of comic making. As the story unwinds with mishaps and hilarity, readers get to see the progress, mistakes, and improvements that come with practice and persistence. Squid Kid and Katydid, Baby Frog Squad, Gorilla Cheese Sandwich, and Birds Flowers Tree: A Haiku Photo Comic are just some of the mini-comics that are included as stories-within-the-story, each done in a different style, utilizing humour and drama, prose and poetry, illustrated in different media including acrylics, pastels, coloured pencils, felt-tip markers, clay, hand-made cardboard sculptures, photographs, pipe cleaners, construction paper collages, and cookies. Readers of all ages will be inspired to dream up their own stories and unleash their own creativity as they dive into this pioneering graphic novel adventure from Dav Pilkey and his heartfelt, humorous, and amazing cast of characters in the Cat Kid Comic Club.

View Book COMPARE PRICES
Book pages Placeholder Book

Miss Peregrine's Home For Peculiar Children: The Graphic Novel

A beautiful and powerful graphic-novel adaptation of Ransom Riggs' No. 1 New York Times bestselling novel, MISS PEREGRINE'S HOME FOR PECULIAR CHILDREN. 'Cassandra Jean's beautiful images are so close to what I imagined while I was writing Miss Peregrine , I'm afraid she may have discovered a portal to the inside of my brain' Ransom Riggs

A journey that will change him for ever.

Desperate to uncover the truth about his grandfather's death, sixteen-year-old Jacob sets out on a life-altering quest. Arriving on a remote island off the coast of Wales, he hopes to revisit the past his grandfather left far behind, at Miss Peregrine's Home for Peculiar Children. As he meets its inhabitants, and the truth about them is gradually revealed, everything Jacob thought he knew is challenged. And though what he finds at first seems impossible, it is only in seeing it that it can be believed. So step inside, and see for yourself...

View Book COMPARE PRICES

Usborne Graphic Novels

Toppsta
2021-09-07
Graphic Novels for Kids

Dog Man Series

Toppsta
2021-09-07
Graphic Novels for Kids

classics illustrated

Toppsta
2021-09-07
Graphic Novels for Kids

Captain underpants Series

Toppsta
2021-09-07
Graphic Novels for Kids

Alex Rider Graphic Novels

Toppsta
2021-09-07
Graphic Novels for Kids

Artemis Fowl Graphic Novels

Toppsta
2021-09-07
Graphic Novels for Kids

Percy Jackson Graphic Novels

Toppsta
2021-09-07
Graphic Novels for Kids

The Phoenix Comic Novels

Toppsta
2021-09-07
Graphic Novels for Kids

Asterix

Toppsta
2021-09-07
Graphic Novels for Kids

TinTin 

Toppsta
2021-09-07
Graphic Novels for Kids

The Power of Five Series

Toppsta
2021-09-07
Graphic Novels for Kids

Darren Shan Graphic Novels

Toppsta
2021-09-07
Graphic Novels for Kids

Twilight Saga

Toppsta
2021-09-07
Graphic Novels for Kids

Roy of the Rovers Graphic Novels

Toppsta
2021-09-07
Graphic Novels for Kids

HEARTSTOPPER

Toppsta
2021-09-07
Graphic Novels for Kids

More to explore

Toppsta
2021-09-07
Graphic Novels for Kids

30th July 2021

Share this read with others...

Tweet Email
Featured Book
Eddie Albert and the Amazing Animal Gang: The Amsterdam Adventure
Eddie Albert and the Amazing Animal Gang: The Amsterdam Adventure

BOOK OF THE MONTH: The hilarious and action-packed middle grade adventure from beloved comedian and bestselling author Paul O’Grady. Perfect for ages 8+

View book
Featured Books