Toppsta - Childrens Books – Reviews

Graphic Novels for Kids

Graphic Novels

We can’t get enough of graphic novels!

Graphic novels, for those of you who don’t know, are stories written and illustrated like a comic. They are fast-paced, often funny and many are wildly popular.

Some parents may worry that graphic novels are “easy” reads or that it is “not real reading” but we completely disagree! Kids love this format and these books also encourage budding artists who will often copy the illustrations and make their own comics or graphic novels at home. I speak from experience of my own seven-year-old comic fan!

Graphic novels are a great way for reluctant readers and more visual learners to engage with books and reading. In fact, they can be a secret weapon in aiding the transition to chapter books. They are also fun and usually part of a series, which is always a bonus for parents trying to find the next book for little book monsters.

Not only do graphic novels help build stamina in reading for young readers but they are also enjoying a huge resurgence amongst teens. This means there are lots to choose from, from awesome superheroes to silly humour, and many popular series also have graphic novel versions available.

Explore our list of recommendations below to discover some of the fantastic graphic novels out there from new series like Dog Man to old favourites like Asterix.

Toppsta
2021-02-09
Graphic Novels for Kids
Book pages Placeholder Book

Alice in Wonderland Graphic Novel

When Alice journeys down the rabbit hole, she finds herself in a strange and magical world. A mad hatter, an invisible Cheshire cat and a crazy caterpillar are just some of the extraordinary characters Alice encounters in this fantastical land. Follow Alice's amazing adventures in this beautiful graphic version of Lewis Carroll's timeless fantasy.

View Book COMPARE PRICES
Book pages Placeholder Book

Comic Classics: Treasure Island

OLD books get NEW doodles - it's the classics as you've never seen them before!

A hilarious new series that brings the classics to life with illustrations by Jack Noel. Perfect for 7-9 year olds and fans of Tom Gates, Wimpy Kid and Dav Pilkey. And PIRATES.

Get your HOOKS into the one and only original pirate adventure!

Jim Hawkins spends his life helping out at his mum's boring old inn by the sea, wishing he could sail away and have adventures. But when an old sea captain turns up with a secret, it's the start of a bigger adventure than Jim could ever have imagined - soon he's on a ship on the trail of buried treasure, accompanied by a suspicious sailor named Long John Silver ... Will Jim escape the pirates? Or will he walk the plank?

Climb aboard with Jim, a chatty parrot and a bunch of crazy pirates for a hilarious adventure across the seven seas.

View Book COMPARE PRICES
Book pages Placeholder Book

The Sad Ghost Club: Volume 1

Ever felt anxious or alone? Like you don't belong anywhere? Like you're almost... invisible? Find your kindred spirits at The Sad Ghost Club.

(You are not alone. Shhh. Pass it on.)

This is the story of one of those days - a day so bad you can barely get out of bed, when it's a struggle to leave the house, and when you do, you wish you hadn't. But even the worst of days can surprise you. When one sad ghost, alone at a crowded party, spies another sad ghost across the room, they decide to leave together. What happens next changes everything.

Because that night they start the The Sad Ghost Club - a secret society for the anxious and alone, a club for people who think they don't belong.

Stunningly illustrated, this is volume 1 in a new graphic novel series, for fans of Heartstopper and Jennifer Niven, and for anyone who's ever felt invisible.

Join the community of half a million ghosties on Instagram, @theofficialsadghostclub

View Book COMPARE PRICES
Book pages Placeholder Book

Asterix: Asterix and The Chieftain's Daughter: Album 38

When Adrenalin, the rebellious daughter of the great Gaulish chieftain Vercingetorix, arrives at their village, Asterix and Obelix are tasked with protecting her from the Romans chasing her. This is easier said than done though, as Adrenalin is desperate to escape!
Follow our favourite heroes as they try and reach Adrenalin before the Romans do. With trademark jokes and chaotic fight scenes, the latest instalment in this best-selling series is sure to entertain new and old fans alike.

View Book COMPARE PRICES
Book pages Placeholder Book

InvestiGators

They're Alligators - and Investigators! InvestiGators written and illustrated by John Patrick Green is the full colour, laugh-out-loud series perfect for emerging readers and fans of Dav Pilkey's Dog Man.

Mango and Brash are the InvestiGators: sewer-loving agents of S.U.I.T. and scourge of supervillains everywhere!

With their Very Exciting Spy Technology and their tried-and-true, toilet-based travel techniques, the InvestiGators are undercover and on the case! And on their first mission together, they have not one but two mysteries to solve!

Can Mango and Brash uncover the clues, crack their cases, and corral the crooks? Or will the criminals wriggle out of their grasp?

View Book COMPARE PRICES
Book pages Placeholder Book

Bunny vs Monkey: The Human Invasion

This brand new remastered book collects together Bunny vs Monkey 3: The Stench and Bunny vs Monkey 4: The Wobbles for the first time. Since he crash-landed to Earth in a rocket, Monkey has been causing absolute mayhem! Bunny and the gang (Squirrel, Pig [the Pig], Action Beaver, and Skunky the Inventor) have almost had enough. In this rollicking comic extravaganza, the pint-sized friends must tackle a helliphant, rocket-powered hot air balloons, and the most mind-boggling creatures of all... hew-mans...

View Book COMPARE PRICES

Usborne Graphic Novels

Toppsta
2021-02-09
Graphic Novels for Kids

Dog Man Series

Toppsta
2021-02-09
Graphic Novels for Kids

classics illustrated

Toppsta
2021-02-09
Graphic Novels for Kids

Captain underpants Series

Toppsta
2021-02-09
Graphic Novels for Kids

Alex Rider Graphic Novels

Toppsta
2021-02-09
Graphic Novels for Kids

Artemis Fowl Graphic Novels

Toppsta
2021-02-09
Graphic Novels for Kids

Percy Jackson Graphic Novels

Toppsta
2021-02-09
Graphic Novels for Kids

jedi academy series

Toppsta
2021-02-09
Graphic Novels for Kids

The Phoenix Comic Novels

Toppsta
2021-02-09
Graphic Novels for Kids

Asterix

Toppsta
2021-02-09
Graphic Novels for Kids

TinTin 

Toppsta
2021-02-09
Graphic Novels for Kids

The Power of Five Series

Toppsta
2021-02-09
Graphic Novels for Kids

Darren Shan Graphic Novels

Toppsta
2021-02-09
Graphic Novels for Kids

Twilight Saga

Toppsta
2021-02-09
Graphic Novels for Kids

Roy of the Rovers Graphic Novels

Toppsta
2021-02-09
Graphic Novels for Kids

More to explore

Toppsta
2021-02-09
Graphic Novels for Kids

1st November 2019

Share this read with others...

Tweet Email