Toppsta - Childrens Books – Reviews

View all Blogs
Featured Books

Best books by age

Graphic Novels for Kids

Graphic Novels

Many parents think that they have a 'reluctant reader' when really they just have a reader who prefers books with more visual content.

Graphic novels, for those of you who don’t know, are stories written and illustrated like a comic. They are fast-paced, often funny and many are wildly popular.

Some parents may worry that graphic novels are “easy” reads or that it is “not real reading” but we completely disagree! Kids love this format and these books also encourage budding artists who will often copy the illustrations and make their own comics or graphic novels at home. I speak from experience of my own seven-year-old comic fan!

Graphic novels are a great way for more visual learners to engage with books and reading. In fact, they can be a secret weapon in encouraging children to read more. They are also fun and usually part of a series, which is always a bonus for parents trying to find the next book for little book monsters. 

Graphic novels are enjoying a huge resurgence amongst readers which means there are lots to choose from, from awesome superheroes to silly humour, and many popular series also have graphic novel versions available.

Explore our list of recommendations below to discover some of the fantastic graphic novels out there from new series like Dog Man to old favourites like Asterix.

Toppsta
2022-07-31
Graphic Novels for Kids
Book pages Placeholder Book

Bunny vs Monkey: Rise of the Maniacal Badger

Jamie Smart's big-selling comic-book success story continues! The Maniacal Badger has arrived, and he's determined to take over the Woods! Wasn't that Monkey's plan? This cannot happen! What japes await in this brand-new adventure, when Bunny and Monkey team up to beat this new menace?! They've never managed to work together before. . . And will Skunky rediscover his passion for evil inventions, to defeat his rival at their own game? One thing's for sure . . . Laughs are guaranteed!

View Book COMPARE PRICES
Book pages Placeholder Book

The Ghost Blade

This high-octane and uproariously funny graphic novel follows Barb the Brave on another high stakes quest.
Perfect for readers aged 6+ and fans of Bunny Vs Monkey, Disney's Brave and Dav Pilkey's Dog Man .

Barb is a Berzerker, one of an elite crew of warriors who protect the land of Bailiwick from the scourge of monsters.

The evil Witch Head has captured all of the adult Berzerkers . . . Cue Barb to the rescue! But she's not alone - Barb's got her own amateur crew of wannabe zerks, made up of farmers , monsters , and her best pal Porkchop the yeti .

This ragtag gang must infiltrate Maug Horn, the monster capital, and find Franny Fire Fingers , who they hope will lead them to the Wise Wizards and the power to fight Witch Head. But when Barb's powerful Shadow Blade sword is no match for the evil she encounters, Barb must learn that her true power comes from her own heart.

Join Barb on her second spellbinding adventure to save the day once again.

*Grab your copy of the first book in this side-splitting series. Barb the Brave is OUT NOW!

View Book COMPARE PRICES
Book pages Placeholder Book

Bumble and Snug and the Excited Unicorn: Book 2

Best friends Bumble and Snug are Bugbops - little monsters filled with BIG feelings! Join them and a VERY excited unicorn, in this new, full-colour graphic novel, as they go on a thrilling, funny adventure and learn about the world outside and inside.

Bumble and Snug are in the magical unicorn forest when they get into a spot of trouble. Luckily, they are rescued by a unicorn and together they have the great idea to become superheroes.

Introducing the super buddies! From a runaway ice-cream van to a lost teddy bear, Bumble, Snug and Sparklehoof the unicorn save the day. But not everybody is happy when Sparklehoof gets too excited with his magic.

Bumble and Snug have to come up with a super action plan to stop Sparklehoof. And with a giant kitten on the loose and a jelly city, they will have to work FAST!

Bumble and Snug and the Excited Unicorn is a story about being too excited and how to listen, friendship and magic, and three new SUPERHEROES!

Perfect for readers just starting to enjoy stories independently, for visual readers and for wise kids to share with their grown-ups. For fans of Narwhal and Jelly and Dogman .

View Book COMPARE PRICES
Book pages Placeholder Book

Lightfall: Shadow of the Bird

New York Times bestselling author Faith Erin Hicks says of Lightfall : "Gorgeous artwork and a lovable heroine make Lightfall the series I wish I'd had as a kid."

In the second installment of the award-winning, critically acclaimed Lightfall series, Bea and Cad continue their quest to stop Kest, the mythic bird who stole the sun. Perfect for middle grade fans of Amulet and Avatar the Last Airbender , Lightfall: Shadow of the Bird is another breathtaking journey into the magical world of Irpa, where epic battles and powerful creatures abound.

After a battle that nearly cost them their lives, Bea and Cad awaken in the hidden settlement of the Arsai, mysterious creatures who can glimpse into the future. The Arsai's vision paints a dire picture for their planet, as the bird Kest Ke Belenus-now awoken from a restless slumber-threatens to destroy all the Lights of Irpa. Desperate for a solution, Bea and Cad seek out the help of a water spirit known as Lorgon, whose ancient wisdom may help them find a way to take down Kest and save Irpa from utter destruction.

But when their time with Lorgon presents more questions than answers, Bea and Cad must decide what's more important . . . stopping Kest or uncovering the truth.


View Book COMPARE PRICES
Book pages Placeholder Book

Kitty Quest: Trial by Tentacle

Dog Man meets the Lord of the Rings in this epic laugh-out-loud graphic novel series about two aspiring monster slayers. In their second adventure, our heroes face a new threat to Meowminster - an army of ferocious sea monsters! This is the perfect new read for fans of Captain Underpants, Dog Man and The Simpsons !

The islands of Pawdor are in peril once again! Ferocious sea monsters have been spotted on shore, and the townsfolk are in a complete panic. Luckily, Kitty Quest are ready to protect the land. So what if Woolfrik and Perigold are the only guild members (besides their mentor who's a ghost), and it's just their second week on the job?

How are these two amateur heroes supposed to stop a whole army of tentacled beasts? It may just take some quick thinking, a whole lot of luck, and a little help from the most unexpected of places. In order to save all of kitty-kind, Woolfrik and Perigold are going to have to learn to work together and prove that two heads are better than one.

Praise for Kitty Quest :
' Fantastically funny and epically exciting! Kitty Quest is a ridiculous thrill from start to finish!' - Jamie Smart, creator of the Bunny vs. Monkey series

' So funny! Phil Corbett is a genius!' - Rob Biddulph, author of Draw With Rob

'Fun, fast-paced and hilarious. Kitty Quest is a must-read - especially if you love a good cat-pun!' - Laura Ellen Anderson, author of Amelia Fang

Matt Braly , creator of Disney's Amphibia, proclaims Kitty Quest is 'an absolutely charming story that had me chuckling the whole way through. I couldn't put it down!'

'A hilarious, magical and downright silly story about some paws-itively delightful heroes! Kitty Quest is the purr-fect tale for any reader!' - Brett Bean, creator of the Zoo Patrol Squad series

'Fearless feline heroes! Marauding monsters! Bewitched burritos! With bonkers artwork and snappy storytelling, Kitty Quest has everything young adventurers could ever want!' - Aaron Blecha, co-creator of Dinomighty!

View Book COMPARE PRICES
Book pages Placeholder Book

Looshkin: The Maddest Cat in the World

The comics in this book were previously published as Looshkin and Looshkin: The Big Number 2. Looshkin might look like a cute blue cat, but you've never met a cat like Looshkin before. If you look away for just a moment, your house will be full of foamy bubbles, there are pigs on your roof, and a portal to a hell-dimension has opened in your loft. And there are bees, everywhere! Life is never going to be boring while Looshkin is around, but one thing is for sure - it will be very, very funny!

View Book COMPARE PRICES
Book pages Placeholder Book

InvestiGators: Braver and Boulder

Our favorite sewer-loving secret agents are between a rock and a hard place in InvestiGators: Braver and Boulder , the newest chapter in the hilarious full-colour New York Times -bestselling graphic novel adventure series from John Patrick Green.

The InvestiGators are having a hard time keeping a low profile with their new headquarters being a giant robot towering over the city! How can they be SECRET agents if everyone recognizes them?

But with their ears to the ground, Mango and Brash hear mysterious rumblings about BOULDER BUDDIES . . . are they just the latest fad or part of a mob-run scheme? And could a rocky relationship from the InvestiGators' past be hiding beneath the surface? Find out in their most stone-cold dangerous mission yet!

Continue the series with Investigators: Heist and Seek!

View Book COMPARE PRICES

narwhal and jelly

Toppsta
2022-07-31
Graphic Novels for Kids

bunny vs monkey

Toppsta
2022-07-31
Graphic Novels for Kids

investigators

Toppsta
2022-07-31
Graphic Novels for Kids

comic classics

Toppsta
2022-07-31
Graphic Novels for Kids

warriors manga

Toppsta
2022-07-31
Graphic Novels for Kids

Dog Man Series

Toppsta
2022-07-31
Graphic Novels for Kids

hilda

Toppsta
2022-07-31
Graphic Novels for Kids

Captain underpants Series

Toppsta
2022-07-31
Graphic Novels for Kids

amulet

Toppsta
2022-07-31
Graphic Novels for Kids

Alex Rider Graphic Novels

Toppsta
2022-07-31
Graphic Novels for Kids

Artemis Fowl Graphic Novels

Toppsta
2022-07-31
Graphic Novels for Kids

Percy Jackson Graphic Novels

Toppsta
2022-07-31
Graphic Novels for Kids

The Phoenix Comic Novels

Toppsta
2022-07-31
Graphic Novels for Kids

HEARTSTOPPER

Toppsta
2022-07-31
Graphic Novels for Kids

cat kid comic club

Toppsta
2022-07-31
Graphic Novels for Kids

famous five graphic novels

Toppsta
2022-07-31
Graphic Novels for Kids

babysitter's club graphic novels

Toppsta
2022-07-31
Graphic Novels for Kids

Roy of the Rovers Graphic Novels

Toppsta
2022-07-31
Graphic Novels for Kids

classics illustrated

Toppsta
2022-07-31
Graphic Novels for Kids

Twilight Saga

Toppsta
2022-07-31
Graphic Novels for Kids

Asterix

Toppsta
2022-07-31
Graphic Novels for Kids

TinTin 

Toppsta
2022-07-31
Graphic Novels for Kids

The Power of Five Series

Toppsta
2022-07-31
Graphic Novels for Kids

Darren Shan Graphic Novels

Toppsta
2022-07-31
Graphic Novels for Kids

Usborne Graphic Novels

Toppsta
2022-07-31
Graphic Novels for Kids

More to explore

Toppsta
2022-07-31
Graphic Novels for Kids

31st January 2022

Share this read with others...

Tweet Email
Featured Books