Books Like One of Us is Lying

Books Like One of Us is Lying

Obsessed with One of Us is Lying? Us too.

Whether you discovered the addictive thriller on Netflix, in a bookshop or on TikTok, if you're wondering what to read next check out our recommendations for the 10 best books like One of Us is Lying

Discover your next compulsive, nail-biting read right here.


Toppsta
2022-05-23
Books Like One of Us is Lying
Book pages Placeholder Book

A Good Girl's Guide to Murder

The New York Times No.1 bestselling YA crime thriller that everyone is talking about!

THE WINNER OF THE BRITISH BOOK AWARDS' CHILDREN'S BOOK OF THE YEAR 2020

SHORTLISTED FOR THE WATERSTONES CHILDREN'S BOOK PRIZE 2020

'A fiendishly-plotted mystery that kept me guessing until the very end.' - Laura Purcell, bestselling author of The Silent Companions

A debut YA crime thriller as addictive as Serial as compelling as Riverdale and as page-turning as One of Us Is Lying

The case is closed. Five years ago, schoolgirl Andie Bell was murdered by Sal Singh. The police know he did it. Everyone in town knows he did it.

But having grown up in the same small town that was consumed by the crime, Pippa Fitz-Amobi isn't so sure. When she chooses the case as the topic for her final project, she starts to uncover secrets that someone in town desperately wants to stay hidden. And if the real killer is still out there, how far will they go to keep Pip from the truth ... ?

Perfect for fans of One of Us Is Lying , Gone Girl, We Were Liars and Riverdale

Holly Jackson started writing stories from a young age, completing her first (poor) attempt at a novel aged fifteen. She lives in London and aside from reading and writing, she enjoys playing video games and watching true crime documentaries so she can pretend to be a detective. A Good Girl's Guide to Murder is her first novel. You can follow Holly on Twitter and Instagram @HoJay92

View Book COMPARE PRICES
Book pages Placeholder Book

Ace of Spades

AN INSTANT NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER 

WINNER OF THE 2021 BOOKS ARE MY BAG READERS' AWARD FOR YOUNG ADULT FICTION NOMINATED FOR THE CARNEGIE MEDAL 2022 
 "One of 2021's biggest books." gal-dem 
ACE OF SPADES is Gossip Girl meets Get Out, with a shocking twist. Buried secrets come to light when two students are targeted by an anonymous bully with an explosive agenda. 
 Hello, Niveus High. It's me. Who am I? That's not important. All you need to know is...I'm here to divide and conquer. - Aces 
 Welcome to Niveus Private Academy, where money paves the hallways, and the students are never less than perfect. Until now. Because anonymous texter, Aces, is revealing the darkest secrets of two students. Talented musician Devon buries himself in rehearsals, but he can't escape the spotlight when his private photos go public. Head girl Chiamaka isn't afraid to get what she wants, but soon everyone will know the price she has paid for power. Someone is out to get them both. Someone who holds all the aces. And they're planning much more than a high-school game... 
 Unputdownable and utterly compulsive, this high-octane thriller takes a powerful look at institutionalized racism. 

View Book COMPARE PRICES
Book pages Placeholder Book

The Magpie Society: One for Sorrow

"A nail-biting page turner written with cinematic sparkle" - Jennifer Niven, bestselling author of All The Bright Places

"The perfect read for teens" - Glamour UK


"Think Serial at Malory Towers" - Katie Lowe, author of
The Furies

A STUDENT FOUND DEAD ON THE BEACH.

A WEB OF UNANSWERED QUESTIONS.

SOMEONE POISED TO STRIKE AGAIN.

Illumen Hall is a boarding school of tradition and achievement.

But tragedy strikes when the body of a student is discovered on the beach - and on her back is an elaborate tattoo of a magpie.

For new student Audrey, it is just another strange and unsettling thing about her new surroundings, along with the secrets the school seems to hide and its weird obsession with magpies. For her roommate Ivy, the death of her friend Lola is just one thing she desperately wants to get past - and having a new student asking questions and cluttering up her personal space is not helping a bit.

But the two girls are forced into an unlikely alliance when a mysterious podcast airs, with one sinister headline:

I KNOW WHO KILLED LOLA. AND ONE OF YOU IS NEXT.

Told from two alternating view-points, this is the first book in a modern gothic thriller series that will have you gripped like no other book this year. Welcome to the Magpie Society, your new YA obsession . . .

View Book COMPARE PRICES
Book pages Placeholder Book

Pretty Little Liars: Number 1 in series

Aria, Emily, Spencer, Hanna and Alison have been best friends since the third grade. They go everywhere together, thinking no-one can come between them. If anyone is the ringleader of the group it is Alison, and the other girls cannot help but confide all their secrets to her.

One night, during a sleepover, Alison goes missing. Her body is never found. The girls mourn her death but move apart after time, assuming their secrets have disappeared with Alison too.

Three years later and Aria is having an affair with her teacher; Emily is questioning her sexuality; Hanna is a thief; and Spencer is flirting with her sister's fiance. They all think their secrets are safe, until they starting receiving messages from the mysterious A - who knows exactly what they are all up to, and is threatening to spill the beans . . .

View Book COMPARE PRICES
Book pages Placeholder Book

One Of Us Is Next: TikTok made me buy it

The sequel to the international bestseller One of Us is Lying.

Welcome back to Bayview High . . .


It's been a year since the events of One Of Us Is Lying.

But nothing has settled for the residents of Bayview. Not now someone has started playing a sinister game of Truth or Dare.

Choose truth? You must reveal your darkest secret.
Choose dare? Well, that could be even more dangerous. Even deadly.

When the game takes an even darker turn, suddenly no one at Bayview High knows who to trust.

But they need to find out who is behind the game, before it's too late.

_____

Praise for One of Us is Next:
'Given that her high-school-based murder mysteries read like bingeworthy Netflix dramas, it's easy to see why queen of teen crime Karen McManus is a bestseller on both sides of the Atlantic.' - THE OBSERVER

'McManus keeps the juicy subplots ticking over and drip-feeds reveals as clinically as an IV tube.' - THE GUARDIAN

Praise for One of Us is Lying:
'Tightly plotted and brilliantly written, with sharp, believable characters, this whodunit is utterly irresistible' - HEAT

'A fantastic murder mystery, packed with cryptic clues and countless plot twists. I could not put this book down' - THE SUN

View Book COMPARE PRICES
Book pages Placeholder Book

We Were Liars: The award-winning YA book TikTok can't stop talking about!

A beautiful and distinguished family.

A private island.
A brilliant, damaged girl; a passionate, political boy.
A group of four friends-the Liars-whose friendship turns destructive.
A revolution.
An accident.
A secret.
Lies upon lies. True love. The truth. 
 We Were Liars is a modern, sophisticated suspense novel from New York Times bestselling author, National Book Award finalist, and Printz Award honouree E. Lockhart. 
 Read it. And if anyone asks you how it ends, just LIE.

View Book COMPARE PRICES
Book pages Placeholder Book

The Inheritance Games: TikTok Made Me Buy It

'Barnes is a master of puzzles and plot twists' E. Lockhart, author of We Were Liars

An addictive and twisty thriller, full of dark family secrets and deadly stakes. Perfect for fans of Karen McManus and Holly Jackson.

A BILLION-DOLLAR FORTUNE TO DIE FOR . . .

She came from nothing.
Avery has a plan: keep her head down, work hard for a better future.Then an eccentric billionaire dies, leaving her almost his entire fortune. And no one, least of all Avery, knows why.

They had everything.
Now she must move into the mansion she's inherited. It's filled with secrets and codes, and the old man's surviving relatives - a family hell-bent on discovering why Avery got 'their' money.

Now there's only one rule: winner takes all.
Soon she is caught in a deadly game that everyone in this strange family is playing. But just how far will they go to keep their fortune?

'Impossible to put down'
Buzzfeed

DON'T MISS THE HAWTHORNE LEGACY - THE UMISSABLE SEQUEL TO THE INHERITANCE GAMES , AVAILABLE NOW!

View Book COMPARE PRICES
Book pages Placeholder Book

Girl in the Window

See the world from another unique perspective in the thrilling new novel from the author of I Have No Secrets (a World Book Day title for 2018).

Nothing ever happens on Kasia's street. And Kasia would know, because her illness makes her spend days stuck at home, watching the world from her bedroom window. So when she sees what looks like a kidnapping, she's not sure whether she can believe her own eyes ...

There was a girl in the window opposite - did she see something too? But when Kasia goes to find her she is told the most shocking thing of all.

There is no girl.

An eye-opening and compulsive page-turner for readers aged 12 and up.

Penny Joelson began working with disabled people when she was a teenager, which gave her the inspiration and insight for this book. As well as writing compulsive thrillers for teen readers she also teaches creative writing. Find Penny on Twitter: @pennyjoelson

View Book COMPARE PRICES
Book pages Placeholder Book

Clique Bait

Pretty Little Liars meets Burn for Burn in this thrilling debut from Wattpad star Ann Valett.

Chloe Whittaker is out for revenge.

Last year her best friend Monica's life was unceremoniously ruined by the most popular students at their high school, so this year Chloe plans to take each and every one of them down. She's traded in her jeans and T-shirts for the latest designer clothes, erased anything on social media that would tie her to Monica (and blow her cover), and carefully figured out how she will befriend the members of the clique, find out their deepest and darkest secrets, and reveal them to the world.

Chloe has the perfect plan . . . but there's one thing she didn't prepare for. And that's falling for someone she's determined to destroy. The closer she gets to uncovering the secrets the in-crowd is determined to cover up, the more she realizes that she is going to have to choose between betraying her oldest friend or the boy who's captured her heart

View Book COMPARE PRICES
Book pages Placeholder Book

Cruel Summer

A compelling psychological thriller with a dash of romance from award-winning writer Juno Dawson. Perfect for fans of Sue Wallman and E. Lockhart.

Ryan is looking forward to spending the summer with his old school friends at Katie's luxurious Spanish villa. He hasn't seen them all since their friend Janey committed suicide a year ago and he's hoping this summer they'll be able to put the past behind them and move on.

But then someone else arrives, claiming to have proof that Janey's suicide was murder.

Ryan was hoping for sun, sea and sand. Suddenly, he's facing a long, hot summer of death, drama and deceit . . .

View Book COMPARE PRICES

23rd May 2022

Share this read with others...

Tweet Email