Books for Kids Who Love Myths & Legends

The Sword in the Stone

Myths, legends and folklore provide the inspiration for some of our favourite ever children's books.

These stories have stood the test of time over hundreds of years, with reinventions and retellings of the tales of epic heroes, mischievous gods and fabulous mythical creatures keeping the legends going and  enchanting new generations of children.

From Greek Gods wreaking havoc on the streets of modern-day New York in the Percy Jackson series, to illustrated encyclopedias of myths and legends from all over the world, all these books are perfect for kids who love mythology and fantasy.


Toppsta
2022-05-19
Books for Kids Who Love Myths & Legends
Book pages Placeholder Book

Percy Jackson and the Lightning Thief (Book 1)

Coming soon to Disney+!

Half boy . Half God . ALL Hero .

I was just a normal kid, I went to school (got expelled a lot, but that wasn't my fault), played sports and hung out with my best friend.

Until I accidentally vaporized my maths teacher.

Now, I spend my time at Camp Half Blood, battling monsters and generally trying to stay alive.

And now that Zeus thinks I've stolen his lightning bolt, staying alive is going to be even harder...

View Book COMPARE PRICES
Book pages Placeholder Book

The Lost Hero (Heroes of Olympus Book 1)

Rick Riordan has now sold an incredible 55 million copies of his books worldwide. An incredible, brand-new spin-off series from the best-selling creator of Percy Jackson.OLD ENEMIES AWAKEN AS CAMP HALF-BLOOD'S NEW ARRIVALS PREPARE FOR WAR When Jason, Piper and Leo crash land at Camp Half-Blood, they have no idea what to expect. Apparently this is the only safe place for children of the Greek Gods - despite the monsters roaming the woods and demigods practising archery with flaming arrows and explosives.But rumours of a terrible curse - and a missing hero - are flying around camp.It seems Jason, Piper and Leo are the chosen ones to embark on a terrifying new quest, which they must complete by the winter solstice. In just four days time. Can the trio succeed on this deadly mission - and what must they sacrifice in order to survive?

View Book COMPARE PRICES
Book pages Placeholder Book

The Unmorrow Curse

Two friends awaken a world of myth and magic in this epic middle grade fantasy perfect for fans of Rick Riordan. It's not every day that you find a famous weather woman bound by magic to a tree deep in the woods. Or discover that the weatherwoman is in fact Sunna, the Norse Goddess of the Sun, and one of the seven day guardians who keep time in order. But that's just what happens to new friends Buzz and Mari--and it's only the start of their adventure. Now, as humanity are forced into a lockdown called the Unmorrow Curse and are forced to repeat the same Saturday over and over again, Buzz and Mari must journey to collect the Runes of Valhalla and awaken the other day guardians, before vengeful god Loki can get to them first.

View Book COMPARE PRICES
Book pages Placeholder Book

Who Let the Gods Out?

The first book in the hilarious bestselling WHO LET THE GODS OUT series, shortlisted for the Waterstones Children's Book Prize! 'I totally fell in love with Elliot and the gods, and I think you're all going to love them too.' ROBIN STEVENS 'One of the funniest new voices in children's literature. The laughs come thick and fast' DAVID SOLOMONS When Elliot wishes upon a star, he doesn't expect a constellation to crash into a dungheap on his family farm. The star is Virgo. She thinks she's perfect. Elliot doesn't. And together they release Thanatos, evil Daemon of Death ... epic fail. They need the King of the Gods and his noble steed. Instead, they get a chubby Zeus and his high horse Pegasus. Are the Gods really ready to save the world? And is the world really ready for the Gods? An exciting, laugh-out-loud hilarious and highly-acclaimed Percy Jackson-esque adventure. Shortlisted for both the Waterstones Children's Book Prize and the Books Are My Bag Readers' Award. Hilarious and heartfelt, Who Let the Gods Out? is the first in a series centred on the Olympian gods - perfect for fans of Greek mythology! Loved Who Let the Gods Out? Make sure to check out the other books in the series, starting with book 2, Simply the Quest!

View Book COMPARE PRICES
Book pages Placeholder Book

Arthur: The Always King

The definitive retelling of the legends of King Arthur, from Carnegie Medal-winner Kevin Crossley-Holland and former Children's Laureate Chris Riddell.

Be enthralled by the world of Arthurian legend in this lavishly illustrated, masterful retelling. From King Arthur's childhood to his final battle, the timeless tales of the sword in the stone, the quests of the Knights of the Round Table and the wizardry of Merlin are woven together into a breathtaking feat of storytelling. An extraordinary collaboration between the world-renowned Kevin Crossley-Holland and the three-time Kate Greenaway Medal-winner Chris Riddell, this is a beautiful edition to be treasured by all ages.

View Book COMPARE PRICES
Book pages Placeholder Book

Eragon: Book One

The first book in The Inheritance Series

When poor farm boy Eragon finds a polished stone in the forest, he thinks it's a lucky discovery. Perhaps, he will be able to buy his family food for the winter.

But, when a baby dragon hatches out of the stone, Eragon realises he's stumbled upon a legacy nearly as old as the Empire itself.

His simple life is shattered, and he's thrust into a perilous new world of destiny, magic and power. To navigate this dark terrain, and survive his cruel king's evil ways, he must take up the mantle of the legendary Dragon Riders.

Will he succeed? The fate of the Empire rests in his hands. . .

View Book COMPARE PRICES
Book pages Placeholder Book

Loki: A Bad God's Guide to Being Good

Wry, witty and very funny diary-style story packed with doodles and comic strips about the frustration trickster god Loki feels at having to live trapped in the body of a weedy eleven-year-old boy.

After one trick too many, Loki is banished to live on Earth as a "normal" school boy. Forbidden from using his AWESOME godly powers, Loki must show moral improvement . As he records his lies THE TRUTH in his magical (judgemental) diary, it becomes clear Loki hasn't a clue how to tell good from evil, trust from tricks, or friends from enemies.

View Book COMPARE PRICES
Book pages Placeholder Book

The Hidden Oracle (The Trials of Apollo Book 1)

The latest series from international bestselling author, Rick Riordan

He was once an immortal God. Now, he's a teenage boy called Lester.

Apollo has angered his father Zeus for the last time.

So, how do you punish an immortal?

By making him human. Obviously.

Cast down from Olympus, he's weak, disorientated and stuck in New York City as a teenage boy.

It's the first time he's been without his powers, and he has to survive in the modern world.

Which isn't an easy feat for a four-thousand-year old deity, especially one with as many enemies as he has.

Apollo needs help, and he can only think of one place to go . . . an enclave of modern demigods known as Camp Half-Blood.

View Book COMPARE PRICES
Book pages Placeholder Book

The Book of Mythical Beasts and Magical Creatures: Meet your favourite monsters, fairies, heroes, and tricksters from all around the world

Enter the enchanting world of mythical creatures.

Meet your favourite monsters, fairies, heroes, and tricksters from all around the world. Explore the history behind fictional creatures including mermaids, unicorns, fairies, phoenixes, dragons, and jinn!

This beautifully illustrated book of mythology for kids ages 7-9 years old is packed with:

- Facts behind the myths
- Insights into cultures from around the world and their creation stories
- Comprehensive compendiums of mythical creatures from around the world
- Rich and colourful illustrations by Pham Quang Phuc

Perfect for fans of fantasy tales, this kids book filled with supernatural stories brings the history of mythology and magical creatures to life. Mythical Beasts and Magical Creatures explores the societies that birthed these legendary creatures found in narratives from Ancient Greek mythology, Australian and Native American folktales. Find out what the beasts tell us about the people who created them and the remarkable human imagination.

Meet mind-boggling fictional animals big and small. Say hello to Bigfoot in the forests of North America. Explore the legend of unicorns, voyage to Japan to meet the supernatural nine-tailed foxes that can turn into humans. Jump onboard an ancient ship to learn why sailors were terrified of seeing mermaids.

The illustrated fantasy book for kids is wonderful for children who like to delve into enchanting stories and magical creatures.

View Book COMPARE PRICES
Book pages Placeholder Book

Mythologica: An Encyclopedia of Gods, Monsters and Mortals from Ancient Greece

Amazon's No. 1 Children's Non-Fiction Book of the Year 2019 is an illustrated encyclopedia of Greek mythology like no other. Mythologica features startlingly beautiful and exquisitely otherworldly portraits of mythological characters in eye-popping color from artist Victoria Topping and authoritative text from Classics scholar and Greek mythology expert Dr. Stephen Kershaw.

Uncover the colorful lives of 50 powerful gods and goddesses, earth-dwelling mortals, and terrifying monsters as you journey back in time to ancient Greece. From the fearless Athena and her meddlesome ways to the brave and bold Odysseus and his remarkable journey home, discover why these incredible stories are still a part of our culture today.

Each boldly designed spread presents a figure from the myths , including their name in Greek, their defining attributes, and a summary of their story, along with multiple sidelights that provide additional facts. Interspersed with the profiles are summaries of famous mythological tales and historical events , like the Odyssey, the Trojan War, and the story of the Argonauts.

An electrifying visual portrayal of each figure transports you directly into their wild world. With over 18,000 followers on Instagram, Victoria Topping's artwork is a fusion of technological and traditional techniques that combines photography, painting, and cut-paper collage to perfectly express the blending of human and fantastic traits from which mythical beings are made.

The thrilling images and digestible text provide the perfect introduction to the lively world of Greek mythology and a beautiful display reference for the whole family . Prepare to be amazed as you uncover the epic, heroic, and sometimes terrible lives of mortals, monsters, and gods.

View Book COMPARE PRICES
Book pages Placeholder Book

African and Caribbean Folktales, Myths and Legends

Enjoy a rich collection of folktales, myths and legends from all over Africa and the Caribbean, re-told for young readers. From the trickster tales of Anansi the spider, to the story of how the leopard got his spots; from the tale of the king who wanted to touch the moon, to Aunt Misery's magical starfruit tree. This book includes traditional favourites and classic folktales and mythology.

View Book COMPARE PRICES

First published

Updated:

Share this read with others...

Tweet Email