Toppsta - Childrens Books – Reviews

Best New Children's Books October 2018

1st October 2018

Test

Every month we pick our favourite children's books from ALL the new books just published. Check out our top picks this month and click "View Book" to find out more and enter the giveaway to read and review them too!

Book pages Placeholder Book

Grandma Bird

This is such a beautiful follow up to The Storm Whale, Benji Davies' debut picture book about kindness, loneliness, loss and discovery. 

Noi isn't at all sure about staying at Grandma's. Grandma boils seaweed for soup, and there's not much to do on the tiny island where she lives where the wind cuts in and the grass grows sideways

But that's before Noi gets swept up in the dramatic rescue that will mark the beginning of their touching new friendship.

View Book COMPARE PRICES
Book pages Placeholder Book

The Train to Impossible Places

When Suzy hears a strange rattling noise in the middle of the night, she creeps downstairs to find a train roaring through her house. 

But this is no ordinary train. This is the magical delivery express for The Union of Impossible Places. 

Whisked onboard by a troll-boy called Wilmot, Suzy's world is turned upside down when she's given the job of delivering a cursed package to the fearsome sorceress, Lady Crepuscula. And when the mysterious package begs not to be delivered, Suzy discovers the fate of the Impossible Places might just be in her hands...

Perfect for fans of Harry Potter, Philip Pullman, C.S. Lewis, The Polar Express and recommended for ages 9+

View Book COMPARE PRICES
Book pages Placeholder Book

Max Einstein: The Genius Experiment

Our reviewers LOVED this inspirational story with a female lead. 

Twelve-year-old orphan Max Einstein (like Albert Einstein himself) is not your typical genius. Max hacks the computer system at NYU in order to attend college courses (even though she hates tests), builds homemade inventions to help the homeless, and plays speed chess in the park. Her not-so-normal life is crazy but predictable until...

Max is recruited by a mysterious organisation! Their mission: solve some of the world's toughest problems using science. She's helped by a diverse group of young geniuses from around the globe as they invent new ways to power the farthest reaches of the planet. But that's only if the sinister outfit known only as The Corporation doesn't get to her first...

Max Einstein is a heroine for the modern age and will be looked up to by readers for generations to come. Recommended for ages 8+

View Book COMPARE PRICES
Book pages Placeholder Book

Snowball

Created by bestselling due Sue Hendra and Paul Linnet, Snowball is a brilliantly funny picture book, with wonderfully comical images illustrating the hilarious rhyming story - perfect for Christmas!

A lonely young snowball, stuck at the top of a mountain, decides to visit the local town for a bit of fun - but on his way he trips, falls, and starts to roll . . . and when a snowball rolls through snow, we all know what happens! This snowball picks up not only snow, but a myriad of other odd things on his way down - a sheep, a line of washing, a bicycling bear, ending up in the Zoo.

Perfect for fans of Supertato, Oi Cat!, Oi Dog! and The Day the Crayons Quit.

View Book COMPARE PRICES

Share this read with others...

Tweet Email