10 Books to Read After Harry Potter

10 books like Harry Potter

So,  you've just finished the Harry Potter books and don’t know what to read next? I get it, it's difficult to find anything anywhere near as good as the Potter series with action, magic and fantasy. Worry not, here are our recommendations for books for Harry Potter fans. And if you need a little more Potter in your life, check out our Harry Potter series in order, our list of the Harry Potter films and our favourite Harry Potter quotes


Toppsta
2024-02-12
10 Books to Read After Harry Potter
Book pages Placeholder Book

Percy Jackson Series

Percy Jackson never asked to be the son of a Greek God. In fact, it’s caused him nothing but trouble. He was living the normal life of a twelve-year-old boy, playing basketball, skateboarding and going to school, when he accidentally vaporised his maths teacher and was revealed to be a demigod. Rushed by his mother to a camp set up to protect half-bloods like him, he soon discovers that a civil war is about to break about between the gods – one that would mean catastrophe for the whole planet. 

View Percy Jackson Series
Book pages Placeholder Book

Inkheart Series

A magical and thrilling middle grade series by the award-winning and bestselling author Cornelia Funke! Perfect for fans of The Chronicles Of Narnia, Nevermoor and Spiderwick Chronicles.

View Inkheart Series
Book pages Placeholder Book

The Five Realms Series

The Five Realms (also called Longburrow in the US) is an award-winning epic series of fantasy stories for ages 7+ set in a world of... rabbits! 

View The Five Realms Series
Book pages Placeholder Book

Alex Neptune Series

The books follow main character Alex Neptune who has the power to control water... and all the sea creatures in the ocean know. In each book, we see him embark on a new adventure with his found family, made up of his tech-genius best friend Zoey, legend-lover Anil, a sharp-shooting octopus, four acrobatic otters and a thieving seagull. 

View Alex Neptune Series
Book pages Placeholder Book

The Uncommoners Series

Book 1: The Crooked Sixpence (2016) Book 2: The Smoking Hourglass (2017) Book 3: The Frozen Telescope (2018) Please note, these are the UK titles. In the US they are known as: Book 1: The Crooked Sixpence Book 2: The Shadows of Doom Book 3: The Deadly Omens ...

View The Uncommoners Series
Book pages Placeholder Book

Starfell Series

With black-and-white illustrations inside, this is one of our favourite fantasy adventure series for readers 8+, about a witch with magical powers to find lost things. 

View Starfell Series
Book pages Placeholder Book

Frostheart Series

Set off on a magical and joyful adventure on the Frostheart! Bursting with brilliant characters and heart-stopping adventure, this magical tale is perfect for fans of Nevermoor and Harry Potter.

View Frostheart Series
Book pages Placeholder Book

Amari and the Night Brothers Series

This is one of the biggest middle grade series we've seen since Harry Potter: an epic middle grade supernatural adventure series, soon to be a major movie starring Marsai Martin for readers aged 8+.

View Amari and the Night Brothers Series
Book pages Placeholder Book

Skandar Series

Dive into a world where unicorns are portrayed as never before with this magical middle-grade international bestselling series that has captured the world, perfect for fans of Harry Potter and Nevermoor

View Skandar Series
Book pages Placeholder Book

Nevermoor Series

Since Nevermoor was published in 2017 it has won multiple prizes including the Waterstones Children’s Book Prize in 2018. Written by Australian author Jessica Townsend, the Nevermoor books have often been compared to Harry Potter. Whilst they are an obvious choice for Potter fans, many more readers aged 10 upwards and fantasy lovers of any age will love them too. The length of the books and the descriptive language means they are well suited to advanced readers in particular.

View Nevermoor Series

First published

Updated:

Share this read with others...

Tweet Email