Toppsta - Childrens Books – Reviews

Alex Rider

by ,
  • (183 reviews)

    The world’s only teen spy, Alex Rider, is one of the most popular book characters for young readers. The explosive action series aimed at 9-12 year olds was first published in 2000 and there are now ten books in the series as well as a prequel Russian Roulette and various graphic novel editions.

    Written by bestselling British author Anthony Horowitz, the Alex Rider series has sold over 19 million copies worldwide and continues to thrill readers almost 20 years after its release. Horowitz is a master of action and crime, writing for both adults and children, including new James Bond and Sherlock Holmes novels as well as numerous TV episodes and films. Anthony Horowitz’s books have been described as “the not-so-secret weapon to get boys reading” thanks to the fast-paced plots, full of twists and cliff-hangers. 
     
    Having been made into a film (Stormbreaker) in 2006, the boy spy is now gracing the small screen in the new Alex Rider TV series on Amazon Prime. The first season, based on Point Blanc (book 2), was released this year (2020), starring Otto Farrant as Alex Rider.

    It’s best to start at the beginning of the series to get the back story. Stormbreakerbook 1 in the series, introduces us to 14-year-old Alex Rider, a normal teenager thrust into working for MI6 in the wake of his uncle’s suspicious death. Before he knows it, he is operating in a murky world of secret gadgets, weapons, terrorists and most of all danger. We love the Alex Rider books for their fast-paced action and nail-biting mysteries and Toppsta readers do too. Check out their five-star reviews for these exciting adventure stories, recommended for readers aged 9+. 
     
    The new Alex Rider, Nightshadecame out in April 2020 and there is also a new book for this year's World Book Day – Undercover and a collection of short stories Secret Weapon.

    Check out these Teachers Notes for KS2 and KS3! And if you've finished the series, check out our list of recommendations for books like Alex Rider.

    All the Alex Rider books in order:

    Prequel: Russian Roulette (2013)
    Book 1: Stormbreaker (2000)
    Book 2: Point Blanc (2001)
    Book 3: Skeleton Key (2002)
    Book 4: Eagle Strike (2003)
    Book 5: Scorpia (2004)
    Book 6: Ark Angel (2005)
    Book 7: Snakehead (2007)
    Book 8: Crocodile Tears (2009)
    Book 9: Scorpia Rising (2011)
    Book 10: Never Say Die (2017)
    Book 11: Short Stories: Secret Weapon (2016)
    Book 12: Nightshade (April 2020)

    PLUS: Undercover (World Book Day Title 2020)

    Additional Resources

    Prequel
    Prequel

    Russian Roulette

    The eagerly anticipated, deadly prequel to the number one bestselling Alex Rider series. In the prequel to the ... More

    (3 reviews)
    Review
    Book 1
    Book 1

    Stormbreaker

    The first action-packed adventure that started the number one bestselling Alex Rider series. In the first book in... More

    (53 reviews)
    Review
    Book 2
    Book 2

    Point Blanc

    The second mission in the number one bestselling Alex Rider series. In the second book in the number one bestse... More

    (29 reviews)
    Review
    Book 3
    Book 3

    Skeleton Key

    The third, explosive mission in the number one bestselling Alex Rider series. In the third book in the number o... More

    (22 reviews)
    Review
    Book 4
    Book 4

    Eagle Strike

    The fourth, thrilling episode in the number one bestselling Alex Rider series. In the fourth book in the number... More

    (10 reviews)
    Review
    Book 5
    Book 5

    Scorpia

    The deadly fifth mission in the number one bestselling Alex Rider series. In the fifth book in the number one b... More

    (6 reviews)
    Review
    Book 6
    Book 6

    Ark Angel

    The action-packed sixth adventure in the number one bestselling Alex Rider series. In the sixth book in the num... More

    (2 reviews)
    Review
    Book 7
    Book 7

    Snakehead

    Undercover in a poisonous world, teen spy Alex Rider is back for his seventh adrenalin-rush adventure! In the s... More

    (4 reviews)
    Review
    Book 8
    Book 8

    Crocodile Tears

    Alex Rider's eighth, adrenaline fueled adventure in the number one bestselling series. In the eighth book in th... More

    (1 review)
    Review
    Book 9
    Book 9

    Scorpia Rising

    The dark and shocking conclusion to the number one bestselling Alex Rider series. In the final book in the numb... More

    (2 reviews)
    Review
    Book 10
    Book 10

    Never Say Die

    Alex Rider is back in this brand new, explosive mission in the number one bestselling series. In this brand new... More

    (16 reviews)
    Review
    Book 11 (Short Stories)
    Book 11 (Short Stories)

    Secret Weapon

    An essential collection of seven explosive Alex Rider stories by number one bestselling author, Anthony Horowitz. ... More

    (14 reviews)
    Review
    Book 12
    Book 12

    Nightshade

    Get ready for action, adrenaline and adventure in this explosive, brand new Alex Rider mission by bestselling author... More

    (11 reviews)
    Review
    World Book Day
    World Book Day

    Alex Rider Undercover: Four Secret Files

    Go undercover into the secret world of teen super spy Alex Rider in this explosive collection of action-packed short sto... More

    (15 reviews)
    Review
    Book 15
    Book 15

    Nightshade

    (0 reviews)
    Review
    View all Books
    Featured Book
    Book pages Dragon Mountain
    Dragon Mountain

    BOOK OF THE MONTH: The first adventure in the ROAR some DRAGON REALM series for 9+ readers! Perfect for fans of PERCY JACKSON and BEAST QUEST!

    View book
    Featured Book
    Book pages Football School Epic Heroes: 50 true tales that shook the world
    Football School Epic Heroes: 50 true tales that shook the world

    Celebrate the greatest names and teams in football history with this collection of 50 true stories in this popular football series.

    View book

    New Book

    Most Popular Book

    Recent Reviews

    • Nightshade

      Nightshade

      by NONO

      I love Alex Rider Nightshade since it has another group like Scorpia...

    • Nightshade

      Nightshade

      Alex Rider newest adventure takes place in a high security prison.  He is sent there to infiltrate Nightshades gang to stop them from blowing up the g...

    • Eagle Strike

      Eagle Strike

      by JRB10

      Alex Rider is a spy who works for MI6. This is the fourth book in the Alex Rider series. this is my favourite Alex Rider book that I've read. Alex Rid...