Book pages Brain Freeze: World Book Day 2018

Brain Freeze: World Book Day 2018

Author:

A little girl discovers that eating ice cream from her grandfather's old ice-cream truck gives her the power to travel through time, in this brilliant, funny and heartwarming story from bestselling author Tom Fletcher.

Publisher: Penguin Books Ltd
Format: Paperback
Published: 22nd February 2018
Number of Pages: 112

ISBN-13: 9780241323724

Age Ranking
  1. #47 of 1139 books for 10 year olds
  2. #186 of 1512 books for 9 year olds
  3. #448 of 1615 books for 8 year olds
  4. #497 of 1816 books for 7 year olds
7 Book reviews
21st January '18
Jack from London read it aged 9
Brain Freeze: World Book Day 2018 9780241323724
5 stars
This book is about an every day ice cream van that is also a time travel machine! I really enjoyed the story because if the girl had a brain freeze time froze! I thought it was interesting what she found out on her travels.  I would definitely recommend you read this book!  
14th January '18
I read it to Noah aged 7
Brain Freeze: World Book Day 2018 9780241323724
5 stars
We really enjoyed reading this book together. It follows a little girl called Izzy who is a big fan of ice cream. Izzy loves it so much she has it every day without fail. However one night when the freezer brakes Izzy doesn't know what to do and ends up finding her Grandad's old ice cream van to help remind her of her Grandad and the ice creams they shared together. The book has a very imaginative and fun story. We especially liked the talking tummy and talking brain. There are some wonderful black and white illustrations dotted throughout and some lovely onomatopoeic words in big bold letters that spring out of different pages. The story is a little sad in places but has a wonderful concept. We would definitely recommend it.
30th January '18
I read it aged 10
Brain Freeze: World Book Day 2018 9780241323724
5 stars
This is a very funny book, and I love the idea of a time travelling ice cream van. The storyline is unique and witty, perfect for fans of David Walliams. Although it was short, every page was packed with action, humour and plenty of emotion. I loved it!

Ever since her granddad dies, izzy resolves to eat ice cream every day in memory of him. Disaster strikes when, while Izzy is eating her broccoli, her dad breaks to her some terrible news: all the ice cream has melted!!! Izzy doesn't know what to do; what if she starts to forget her beloved grandpa? Then, in the middle of the night, Izzy remembers the ice cream van. She sneaks outside and into the van. Then, she quickly gobbles up a mouthful of Mr Whippy. But she forgot about one thing... BRAIN FREEZE!!!!!!After going on a unforgettable journey through time, there is one last person that Izzy needs to meet: Grandpa. Will she see him in time, or will it be too late?

This book is definitely recommended to children aged 8+, however 7 year old would probably enjoy it to be read to them.
16th January '18
Belllboo read it aged 10
Brain Freeze: World Book Day 2018 9780241323724
5 stars
When I found out Tom Fletcher wrote a book day book I new I would love it and I really did.  
Brain Freeze is a really good book it is sad because someone dies but it also has lots of fun parts. Who has heard of a time travelling ice cream van?
I think that most kids will love this book no matter what age or of they are a boy or girl. There are also some fantastic pictures to look at. 
17th January '18
HannahMc read it aged 8
Brain Freeze: World Book Day 2018 9780241323724
5 stars
This book was hilarious! I liked when Izzy got brain freeze, so many adjectives were used and it sounded really funny. It was a bit sad when grandpa died. 
18th January '18
KCJo08 read it aged 9
Brain Freeze: World Book Day 2018 9780241323724
5 stars
I think this book is good for anybody who really likes eating excessive amounts of ice cream! It's nearly as witty as David Williams so, if you love him, you'll probably like Brain Freeze.

It's about a girl who loves eating ice cream so much she's devoted to having one every night. What helps is that her Grandad is an ice cream man! One night, when she goes into the garage into her Grandad's ice cream van, she discovers, after eating lots of ice cream, that the van has an extraordinary power...

Witty, humorous and a great read.  5 stars.
10th January '18
Actionbro9 read it aged 10
Brain Freeze: World Book Day 2018 9780241323724
4 stars
I liked this book because it shows time travel in a new and different way.  Of course kids are going to like this book because it has ice-cream!  Although it is a world book day book it is longer then the other ones so if your a younger reader you should get one of the other ones but overall this is a great book!
Book Review

Write Review

Ratings
5
7 Reviews
5
6
4
1
3
2
1