Toppsta - Childrens Books – Reviews

Mud

by

Mud Reviews | Toppsta

Book Rating: 5 based on 15
15 Reviews
Write a Review

LONGLISTED FOR THE CARNEGIE MEDAL
An achingly funny, touching story for anyone who has been thrown in at the deep end.

'Smart and funny. It will tug at your heartstrings' Dawn O'Porter
It's 1979, and thirteen-year-old Lydia has no idea how she'll cope when her dad announces that the family has to sell up and move onto a Thames sailing barge in Essex. With his girlfriend. And her three kids.
Between trying to keep her clothes dry in a leaky cabin, disastrous hair-dye attempts, awkward encounters with local boys, and coping with her suddenly enormous and troublesome family, Lydia fears she'll sink rather than swim . . .
At turns heartbreaking and uplifting, through Lydia's innocent and perceptive voice we find out that while the mud may stick, the tide can turn - and in unexpected and joyful ways.

Perfect for fans of Louise Rennison, Hilary McKay and Rae Earl

Mud Reviews | Toppsta

9781783446896

Share on

Featured Book
Cardboard Cowboys
Cardboard Cowboys

BOOK OF THE MONTH: Multi-award-winning author Brian Conaghan's first book for readers aged 10+ is a future classic about an unexpected friendship, brimming with humour and heart.

View book
Featured Books

Videos

If you would like to provide a video review please sign up to our video panel.

Series

This is Book 8 in the Dirty Bertie Series. See all Dirty Bertie books here.

Sign up to our newsletter for...

Free Book Giveaways, Recommendations & more

Show More (0)
ajax loader

REVIEWER'S AGE

             
Age 5 6 8 10 11 12
Featured Book
Cardboard Cowboys
Cardboard Cowboys

BOOK OF THE MONTH: Multi-award-winning author Brian Conaghan's first book for readers aged 10+ is a future classic about an unexpected friendship, brimming with humour and heart.

View book
Featured Books

About Emily Thomas

Emily is a history teacher with experience of teaching in a variety of settings and of leading a successful history department in a London comprehensive.

More about Emily Thomas

Ratings

  • (8 Reviews)
  • (5 Reviews)
  • (1 Reviews)
  • (1 Reviews)
  • (0 Reviews)