Toppsta - Childrens Books – Reviews

Perfectly Norman

by
,

Perfectly Norman Reviews | Toppsta

Book Rating: 5 based on 14
14 Reviews
Write a Review

Norman had always been perfectly normal. That was until the day he grew a pair of wings!

Norman is very surprised to have wings suddenly - and he has the most fun ever trying them out high in the sky. But then he has to go in for dinner. What will his parents think? What will everyone else think? Norman feels the safest plan is to cover his wings with a big coat.

But hiding the thing that makes you different proves tricky and upsetting. Can Norman ever truly be himself?

A poignant yet uplifting story about individuality, with stunning artwork in a striking minimal palette from the author/illustrator of Herman's Letter. Fans of Oliver Jeffers and Benj Davies will love it.

Perfectly Norman Reviews | Toppsta

9781408880975

Share on

Sign up to our newsletter for...

Free Book Giveaways, Recommendations & more

11th September '17
I read it to Ellie14 aged 3 aged 3
Perfectly Norman 9781408880975
5 stars
This was a great book which the moral of the story is to be yourself. Not try and hide. This was well illustrated. 
17th August '17
I read it to Lily-May aged 2 aged 2
Perfectly Norman 9781408880975
5 stars
This story is the sweetest book ever!  A story about teaching children to be themselves, be who they are and not mingle into the crowd….. Because being you is the very best thing. 
Norman isn’t happy until he grows his beautiful wings but then is frightened about people will say, on these pages the illustrations are coloured grey and look sad, an amazing job by Tom. It made those parts of the story sad a gloomy but once Norman has his wings on show all the colours come out and the story starts to bloom. Everyone in the world need to have their wings on show!
 Lily-May loved to see Norman flying in the book, she then ran around the room with her arms stretched out pretending to fly! Its safe to say that she loved the book, we read it umpteen times before bed for the last few nights and probably for the next few nights to come. 
We cant wait to see what Tom throws at us next, you’ve set the bar high for the next book and cover…….no pressure!!
10th October '17
I read it to Ellie14 aged 3 aged 3
Perfectly Norman 9781408880975
5 stars
A great book about being different. With great illustrations my granddaughter really likes this book. 
6th September '17
I read it to LucasChops aged 6 aged 6
Perfectly Norman 9781408880975
5 stars
This is just such a beautiful book that encourages children to embrace their own peculiarities (because you never know how many kids might be just like you too).  The illustrations throughout are primarily back and white and give a feeling of sadness and oppression.  Yet once Norman accepts himself they burst into a riot of colour which feels really uplifting.  We love it!
11th August '17
I read it to MunchkinMia aged 4 aged 4
Perfectly Norman 9781408880975
5 stars
I love a book that celebrates individuality and finding, and loving, what makes you unique. Perfectly Norman by Tom Percival (Bloomsbury) does just that.
Perfectly Norman is a delight. The illustrations are delicious. I’m particularly fond of the illustrations of Norman’s parents and the diversity shown in the characters throughout. 
Using a Schindler’s List style grey scale with Norman picked out in brilliant yellow, the message is clear from the start. Norman is special. 
His wings are what make him stand out from the crowd. It’s only when he sees some birds – also in colour – that he realises that his wings are what make him happy. 
And for a lot of books that would be enough. The protagonist learns to be himself and love himself. Lovely stuff, the end. But not for Tom Percival. He has a stronger message to share with children. Because when Norman finally shrugs off that coat and flies off into the sky, he gives others the confidence to be themselves too. They join him, celebrating their own wings. When he has the courage to be himself he finds his people. And that is an ending to be proud of. 
7th September '17
I read it to Emarson17 aged 5 aged 5 & to Emarson171 aged 2 aged 2
Perfectly Norman 9781408880975
5 stars
What a wonderful and beautifully written story.  Beginning with a child who is perfectly "normal" and has no distinguishing features suddenly develops a trait that makes him stand out.  of course, no child wants to be different so he keeps it hidden.  After a series of difficult encounters keeping his new feature hidden he decides to reveal it.  This of course makes other children reveal they too are different and highlights that by being brace and embracing every part of you, you may give others the confidence to do so to. 
1st September '17
I read it to Tommyd aged 3 aged 3
Perfectly Norman 9781408880975
5 stars
I just love this book! Clever use of selective colour throughout the book draws you in. My grandson loved the front cover - bright and simple but he wanted to know who the boy was. The story can be read on many levels but the idea of celebrating talents and celebrating differences rather than being afraid of them, makes this a wonderful book to read with children and get them to say what makes them 'perfectly Norman'. I've just recommended this book to a friend who works with you children, many of whom have self esteem issues. One to be read over and over again.
1st September '17
I read it to FreddyBoggis aged 5 aged 5
Perfectly Norman 9781408880975
5 stars
This is a great book, also the illustrations are great. We like the mix of black and white with colour. It's about Norman who grows wings and wears a coat all the time hide them. But he soon realises that it's the coat that's the problem, not the wings. A nice story that my little boy enjoyed.
3rd September '17
I read it to fifebookboy aged 5 aged 5
Perfectly Norman 9781408880975
5 stars
Gorgeous book celebrating being an individual, but also helping children recognise that there may well be others out there like them when they feel alone. One day Norman grows a pair of wings, which is great fun, but what will his parents and other people think? Norman finds a way to look normal but it gets increasingly hard. The illustrations are lovely and reflect Norman's feelings very well. Great book for discussing differences, worries and being an individual.
3rd September '17
I read it to eric_ aged 4 aged 4
Perfectly Norman 9781408880975
5 stars
What a beautiful book! We both loved it. It's about Norman, a boy that grows a beautiful set of wings and can see the world this way, but is afraid of being too different like this and then hides his wings, but doing this makes him feel sad... So he finally notices that it's best to just show to his parents his wings and fly away! Then some other kids also notice that they can show their own wings. I love this simple and magical story. And Iw  loved the illustration and how they played with the colours, or even the lack of colours in some moments.
4th September '17
I read it to Little One aged 3 aged 3
Perfectly Norman 9781408880975
5 stars
This is fantastic book with a brilliant message. 

My daughter thought this book cover was brilliant. The photo doesn't do it justice but this cover is seriously happy and bright and how adorable is that little boy. Tom Percival is so talented. 

The story is centered around Norman who one day grows wings! He is so happy that he has wings, something even he never imagined. He flys around and explores but then his new feature dawns on him. He feels the best thing to do would be to disguise them by always wearing a coat although it does what he hopes, it results in him feeling sad and unlike himself.

The wings here of course could be representative of anything, a child's worry, hair colour, wearing glasses, having a birth mark. Norman, albeit very cool with his wings, is a fine example hopefully showing children  that we are each unique and that it should be celebrated not hidden away. 

The illustrations are super in this book and the drawings and tones used reflect the mood of Norman. Dark coloured backgrounds for example are used when Norman's feeling particularly sad. 

My daughter really enjoyed this book and thankfully she witnessed that Norman didn't want to disguise his wings for long. Once revealing his wings and being open and happy about them he found that other children also had wings. My daughter thought that was pretty cool. Norman was also much happier when he no longer hid his wings away and that was something I really tried to highlight. 

This is a great book that I'm sure will grow with my daughter. The language used is age appropriate and characters in the book are diverse and representative of the world around us. 

We would highly recommend it. 
4th September '17
I read it to THughes14 aged 7 aged 7 , to HHughes28 aged 4 aged 4 & to PHughes22 aged 2 aged 2
Perfectly Norman 9781408880975
5 stars
A delightful story. A really enjoyable read with a great moral; to be yourself and not be ashamed. 

Norman is a normal child, albeit, he seems a little sad (my children think this is why the pictures are grey), one day he grows wings and seems really super happy. 
Until it's time to go home. He hides what makes him happy, as if he is ashamed. This made my children sad, they said "he has wings, that's special, he should show everyone". Norman now wants to be normal, however he realises that having wings is something that makes him happy, so he should use them and not be ashamed.

We spoke alot about how important it is to be yourself and having confidence. A really good book to promote thinking in little ones and to talk about feelings. 

One I will take to school to read to my class.

Highly recommended this book :) 
26th September '17
I read it to BellaS aged 4 aged 4
Perfectly Norman 9781408880975
5 stars
A lovely book with a heartwarming story and beautiful illustrations. Clever use of monochrome with dashes of colour to show his secret hidden gift, which blossoms out to fill the pages at the end. Nice to see a depiction of a mixed race family too - nothing made of it in particular. My family is mixed race, and I realised this might be the first book we've had showing something like this in an illustration of the main character's family. Overall this book provides a good way to talk to my 4 year old about her feelings about fitting in whilst not being ashamed of the things that make her unique. 
31st August '17
I read it to PHanke aged 2 aged 2
Perfectly Norman 9781408880975
4 stars
What a brilliant story! Norman and his problematic wings make for a really fun story with brilliant illustrations! 
Show More (0)

About Tom Percival

A winner of major awards including the Carnegie Medal and the Whitbread Prize, Geraldine McCaughrean is a hugely versatile writer for children, teenagers and adults. Geraldine lives in Berkshire....

More about Tom Percival

About Tom Percival

A winner of major awards including the Carnegie Medal and the Whitbread Prize, Geraldine McCaughrean is a hugely versatile writer for children, teenagers and adults. Geraldine lives in Berkshire....

More about Tom Percival

Ratings

  • (13 Reviews)
  • (1 Reviews)
  • (0 Reviews)
  • (0 Reviews)
  • (0 Reviews)