Toppsta - Childrens Books – Reviews

The Misadventures of Max Crumbly 2: Middle School Mayhem

by

The Misadventures of Max Crumbly 2: Middle School Mayhem Reviews | Toppsta

Book Rating: 5 based on 15
15 Reviews
Write a Review

From #1 New York Times bestselling Dork Diaries author Rachel Renee Russell comes the second book in an all-new series about Max Crumbly and his daily ups and downs in middle school.

When we last left our hero, Max Crumbly, he had crash-landed on top of a Mighty Meat Monster pizza after taking a late night tumble through the vents at South Ridge Middle School-and he was completely surrounded by three ruthless criminals!
Will Max be shredded to bits like mozzarella cheese on the hard and crunchy pizza crust of doom?
Can his friend and sidekick, computer whiz Erin, help get him out of this sticky situation alive?

The Misadventures of Max Crumbly 2: Middle School Mayhem Reviews | Toppsta

9781471164279

Share on

Series

This is Book 2 in the The Misadventures of Max Crumbly Series. See all The Misadventures of Max Crumbly books here.

Category

See More General fiction

Sign up to our newsletter for...

Free Book Giveaways, Recommendations & more

16th June '17
I read it myself (an adult)
The Misadventures of Max Crumbly 2: Middle School Mayhem 9781471164279
5 stars
When we left our hero in the last book he was in a bit of a pickle and we couldn't wait to see how the story would continue, what awaited us in this book was more mayhem and fun all told by Max using his journal, the layout of the book made for easy and fast paced reading carrying you along with the story and just when you thought it was all over, you are left with a cliffhanger that leaves you wanting more and praying that the next book is on its way
18th January '19
Sam read it themselves aged 9 aged 9
The Misadventures of Max Crumbly 2: Middle School Mayhem 9781471164279
5 stars
Firstly I liked this book because it had lots of detailed pictures which were very funny
25th June '17
I read it to Eliza Shippey aged 8 aged 8 & to Isabella Shippey aged 6 aged 6
The Misadventures of Max Crumbly 2: Middle School Mayhem 9781471164279
5 stars
Absolutely fantastic from beginning to end the story line , pictures made it very difficult to put down . My daughter read it to me and I also read parts to her and her sister . If you enjoyed Dork Diaries these books are a must . I can honestly say there was nothing we didn't like about the book and would definitely recommend them to friends & family
10th June '17
I read it myself (an adult)
The Misadventures of Max Crumbly 2: Middle School Mayhem 9781471164279
5 stars
Once again Rachel Renee Russell has brought us another brilliantly entertaining book. Max Crumbly is as comical as he is witty, bringing alive the dramatic lives of middle school children. This book is full of everything a good book needs; comedy, heroes, villains, love and moments of loss. Gripping from page one this book is also full of artistic drawings that are fun to look at for they include so much detail. Perfect for fans of Dork Diaries and Diary of a Wimpy Kid.
15th March '19
Rylando read it themselves aged 9 aged 9
The Misadventures of Max Crumbly 2: Middle School Mayhem 9781471164279
5 stars
Max gets stuck in his locker over a 3 day weekend and there's nobody at school to help him. I like how he has to climb round the ventilation system to try and get around school. The bit that made me laugh was when his clothes were dirty and smelly so he gets clothes from the girls locker room which are too tight. He has to protect the school from three burglars. The one thing I really don't like is that at the end of the book it says 'to be continued'!
11th June '17
Bob1 read it themselves aged 7 aged 7
The Misadventures of Max Crumbly 2: Middle School Mayhem 9781471164279
5 stars
I really like Dork Diaries and I really liked this book too. Max is a good character and he is very funny.  I loved the illustrations in the book because they made the story easier to understand. The funniest bit was when Ralph had to put his head in a fish tank because his hair was on fire! Then Tinkerbell the snake started to wrap around him! The pictures were very funny! I like Max, and I would now read other books about his adventures.  Thank you for letting me read this book.  I would recommend it for girls and boys aged 8-10 years old.  
11th June '17
I read it to Ellanor aged 11 aged 11
The Misadventures of Max Crumbly 2: Middle School Mayhem 9781471164279
5 stars
Great story from the author of Dork Diaries

If you liked the Dork Diaries and Wimpy Kid books then you will enjoy this story

Max is a person who gets into all sorts of trouble in school

The story does have a bit of a flat ending but I'm guessing that's for more books in the series

Very funny story and easy to read with lots of pictures throughout

Recommended for boys and girls aged 8+
20th June '17
Yoloman read it themselves aged 12 aged 12
The Misadventures of Max Crumbly 2: Middle School Mayhem 9781471164279
5 stars
The second book of the series is really funny, it even has rap songs!!

The story is set is Max school. Its easy to read with great illustrations.
8th July '17
booknerd read it themselves aged 11 aged 11
The Misadventures of Max Crumbly 2: Middle School Mayhem 9781471164279
5 stars
Max Crumbly is back going from hero back to zero. When we last left him he was lying on top of a large queasy cheesy pizza. Tucker,  Moose, and Ralph are still trying to get those computers but with only one to deal with 3 Max may aswell give up already. But will he do that? NOT TELLING YOU!!!!!

Anyway if Max does attempt to save the day he will need his trustworthy side kick like someone smart, someone kind and someone who will give up there time to save their school... Maybe Erin could help but wait, she isnt locked in south ridge middle school. 

Will Max save the day ? Do you think Tucker, Moose, and Ralph just simply give up their hope? Read this book to find out. I really enjoyed reading this book because Max always tries his hardest even when he is in messy situations. I reccomend this book to people over the age of 8.
14th June '18
cooper20 read it themselves aged 12 aged 12
The Misadventures of Max Crumbly 2: Middle School Mayhem 9781471164279
5 stars
Really enjoyed this book, very good adventure story and easy to read. I read it in one weekend!!
11th July '17
Tish read it themselves aged 8 aged 8
The Misadventures of Max Crumbly 2: Middle School Mayhem 9781471164279
4 stars
Half way through this book but I like this as much as the last one. It's a good one to read and I would tell all my friends to read it.
8th September '17
Giggle read it themselves aged 10 aged 10
The Misadventures of Max Crumbly 2: Middle School Mayhem 9781471164279
4 stars
I have read the previous book in this series so i think it made more sense. I like that max is funny and clumsy and  just the kind of character you want in a book. max is a normal boy until life gets turned upside-down and he becomes a superhero!!! I loved reading about his adventures and it was fun to read. I would recommend to older readers.
28th July '17
SportyJ read it themselves aged 8 aged 8
The Misadventures of Max Crumbly 2: Middle School Mayhem 9781471164279
4 stars
This book was quite funny, I really enjoyed reading it.  I would recommend it.

I liked the idea that there were baddies trying to steal stuff and Max put traps out for the bad guys and defeated them! 
10th June '17
Bee read it themselves aged 8 aged 8
The Misadventures of Max Crumbly 2: Middle School Mayhem 9781471164279
3 stars
I thought this book would have been a great book, but it wasn't as good as it looks.
This could have been a bit better.
If you like dork diaries, you'll love it.
It cuts off at the end.
9th August '17
Jack the reader read it themselves aged 9 aged 9
The Misadventures of Max Crumbly 2: Middle School Mayhem 9781471164279
3 stars
I thought this book would appeal to my 12 year old but he felt it was too young for him and did not finish it.
Jack aged 9 read it and he found it an easy read and thought he would recommend it for 7 & 8 year olds.
The story was funny but at 9 1/2 Jack also found the book a bit young for him.
Show More (0)

About Rachel Renee Russell

Rachel Renee Russell New Books
Rachel Renee Russell is best known for her Dork Diaries Books and the 13th book in the series, Birthday Drama, comes out in October 2018. The paperback of [url=https://toppsta.com/books/det...

More about Rachel Renee Russell

Ratings

  • (10 Reviews)
  • (3 Reviews)
  • (2 Reviews)
  • (0 Reviews)
  • (0 Reviews)