Toppsta - Childrens Books – Reviews

Violet and the Hidden Treasure

by
,

Violet and the Hidden Treasure Reviews | Toppsta

Book Rating: 5 based on 4
4 Reviews
Write a Review

Praise for Violet's first adventure!

'Whitehorn's debut is pacey and imaginative and Becka Moor's illustrations a delight. Perfect for readers who liked the Ottoline books by Chris Riddell' Times

'Effortlessly gorgeous' Moontrug

'Young readers, particularly fans of Lauren Child, will be very taken with Violet and her world' Books for Keeps

'A great heroine, an intriguing mystery, and brilliant use of language... Hugely recommended' YAyeahyeah

'Sherlock better watch out, 'cos Violet's about!' Wondrous Reads

Meet Violet Remy-Robinson, an amateur Sherlock Holmes in the making...

Violet has spent her holidays exploring India with Godmother Celeste, including visiting Celeste's good friend the Maharajah and meeting his very special cockatoo. But when she returns home, Violet gets a surprise visit from the Maharajah's butler, asking her to look after the bird. Violet couldn't be more amazed (and her cat Pudding couldn't be less pleased...), but the cockatoo holds the key to the Maharajah's fortune, and someone is trying to bird-nap her! Can Violet discover who the culprit is before they succeed?

With a beautiful hardback package complete with two colour illustrations throughout by emerging talent, Becka Moore, everyone is bound to fall in love with Violet and the colourful characters that make up her world. Perfect for fans of Dixie O'Day, Ottolineand Goth Girl.

Violet and the Hidden Treasure Reviews | Toppsta

9781471122620

Share on

Sign up to our newsletter for...

Free Book Giveaways, Recommendations & more

17th June '15
georgiedoc read it themselves aged 10 aged 10
Violet and the Hidden Treasure 9781471122620
5 stars
This book is about a girl called Violet who has to solve an Indian mystery. The story is funny throughout.  Violet is a lovely character, she is very caring and helps her friends when they are in danger. She also makes me laugh a lot!!  I love the illustrations and the colour purple that is used on all the pages. The book cover is amazing and I think it is a perfect present for a friend, to keep.   I give this book five stars because I really enjoyed reading it and I can't wait to read more of Violets fantastic stories.
24th June '15
Read to a child aged 9
Violet and the Hidden Treasure 9781471122620
5 stars
I have read the first Violet book and enjoyed this one as much. It tells about Violets adventures in India and a missing Maharani bird. We meet lots if exciting people in the story as they try to solve the mystery.
7th October '15
Read to a child aged 8
Violet and the Hidden Treasure 9781471122620
5 stars
This story was Fantastic my little Girl hasn't put it Down for the last 2 weeks , so i decided to read it myself . The front cover is so pretty and will last many years . Violet is a great character who is a very good role model for young girls. Violet is sweet and smart and caring and the book was filled with mystery and i adored the parrot and how violet was only to happy to look after him . It is a very funny read and a lovely book to own
21st June '15
neave08-from-aberdeen read it themselves aged 8 aged 8
Violet and the Hidden Treasure 9781471122620
4 stars
This book is about a girl called Violet Rose and a naughty woman called Angel.  Angel steals a very precious bird that Violet is looking after.  The bird is called Maharani. It holds a very important secret to some treasure. I like it because it is an adventure book.
Show More (0)

About Harriet Whitehorn

Harriet Whitehorn grew up in London, where she still lives with her husband and three daughters. She has studied at Reading University, the Architectural Association and The Victoria and Albert Museum and has always worked in building conservation. She currently works for English Heritage. Violet and the Pearl of the Orient was her first children's book and...

More about Harriet Whitehorn

About Becka Moor

Becka Moor Biography
Becka Moor is a children's book illustrator and storyteller living in Manchester. She studied illustration for children's publishing at Glyndwr University, graduating in 2012. Since then, she has worked on a variety of fiction books and series as well...

More about Becka Moor

Ratings

  • (3 Reviews)
  • (1 Reviews)
  • (0 Reviews)
  • (0 Reviews)
  • (0 Reviews)