Toppsta - Childrens Books – Reviews

Vote for the #ToppstaBookClub title

1st January 2020

Vote for the #ToppstaBookClub title

On the last Wednesday of every month we host a #ToppstaBookClub chat over on our Twitter channel, @Toppsta. We always welcome new people and love hearing your thoughts on the latest children's books during the discussion. The great thing is that YOU get to vote for the book you'd most like to discuss each month and often the author/illustrator will take part in the chat too. Sometimes we even offer signed copies to the people that pose the most interesting questions!

We have four fabulous titles in the mix for January's #ToppstaBookClub chat which will take place on Wednesday 29th January, 7.30 - 8.30pm. The choice is between Tad - a beautiful picture book about growing up from award-winning author illustrator, Benji Davies.; Tiger Heart - A magical tale of a bold young chimney sweep and a remarkable tiger from debut author, Penny Chrimes; Shadowsea - the thrilling fourth and final book in the Cogheart series by the brilliant Peter Bunzl and When Sadness Comes to Call - the debut picture book by author-illustrator talent Eva Eland, which takes a poignant but uplifting look at dealing with uncomfortable emotions.

So what are you waiting for? Get voting!

Toppsta
2020-01-02
Vote for the #ToppstaBookClub title

Vote for this month's ToppstaBookClub!

1. Tad by Benji Davies

2. Tiger Heart by Penny Chrimes

3. Shadowsea by Peter Bunzl

4. When Sadness Comes to Call by Eva Eland

Voting closed

Results

1. Tad by Benji Davies
26 votes
2. Tiger Heart by Penny Chrimes
55 votes
3. Shadowsea by Peter Bunzl
18 votes
4. When Sadness Comes to Call by Eva Eland
111 votes
Book pages Placeholder Book

Tad

Sometimes the biggest stories come from the smallest beginnings...

Meet Tad.

She's the smallest tadpole in a big pond, and lives there with all her tadbrothers and tadsisters.

Although something else lives there too... BIG BLUB! And when everyone else starts to disappear, Tad starts to wonder if Big Blub will get her too...

Or is everyone else going somewhere else; somewhere better? And if so, will Tad ever get there too?

A big story about a tiny tadpole - about growing up, branching out, and taking a leap into life.

From the award-winning author and illustrator of The Storm Whale and Granddad's Island , and the perfect story for everyone who's ever grown up, or still has a way to go...

View Book COMPARE PRICES
Book pages Placeholder Book

Tiger Heart

One magical friendship. One roaring adventure.

The magical tale of a bold young chimney sweep and a remarkable tiger, a dangerously hypnotic ruby and a mystical land found across an ocean and through a storm. Perfect for fans of The Girl of Ink and Stars and Pax.

Fly never meant to end up in a cage with a man-eating tiger. And though she's sure she's no princess, when the tiger addresses her as 'your majesty', she can't help but vow to free him and return him home.

But the bird-filled jungles and cloud-topped mountains of the tiger's homeland are an ocean away. And not everyone wants the tiger - or Fly - to get there alive.

With dark and dangerous forces working against them, will Fly be able to fulfil her promise and maybe - just maybe - become the queen her tiger knows her to be?

View Book COMPARE PRICES
Book pages Placeholder Book

Shadowsea

Swept into the bright hustle and bustle of New York, Lily, Robert and Malkin discover shadowy secrets lie beneath its surface. For there are chilling goings-on in their hotel... A strange boy held captive, haunted by an undersea mystery; and a revengeful villain with a treacherous plan. Searching for clues, Robert and Lily are plunged into deep water... But can they reveal the deadly truth before the secrets submerge them? Join Lily, Robert and Malkin on a fantastic voyage of terror and triumph, in the fourth and final Cogheart Adventure...

View Book COMPARE PRICES
Book pages Placeholder Book

When Sadness Comes to Call

When Sadness arrives, try not to be afraid: give it a name, listen to it and spend some time together. Maybe all it wants is to know that it's welcome. This beautiful debut by author-illustrator talent Eva Eland takes a poignant but uplifting look at dealing with sadness.

View Book COMPARE PRICES

Share this read with others...

Tweet Email