Toppsta - Childrens Books – Reviews

Vote for the #ToppstaBookClub title

4th March 2020

Vote for the #ToppstaBookClub title

*The vote is now CLOSED and the winner is The Highland Falcon Thief by M.G. Leonard & Sam Sedgman!*

Join us for a brilliant bookish Twitter chat with the authors  on Wednesday 25th March, 7.30 - 8.30pm @Toppsta.

***

On the last Wednesday of every month we host a #ToppstaBookClub chat over on our Twitter channel, @Toppsta. We always welcome new people and love hearing your thoughts on the latest children's books during the discussion. The great thing is that YOU get to vote for the book you'd most like to discuss each month and often the author/illustrator will take part in the chat too. Sometimes we even offer signed copies to the people that pose the most interesting questions!

We have four fabulous titles in the mix for March's #ToppstaBookClub chat which will take place on Wednesday 25th March, 7.30 - 8.30pm

The choice is between Evernight - a magical fantasy adventure story by debut author Ross MacKenzie ; The House of One Hundred Clocks - a wonderfully atmospheric mystery novel by A.M. Howell, set in 1905 ; The Highland Falcon Thief - a mystery on a train, full of deceptions, puzzles and clues to solve from the prize-winning M.G. Leonard and Sam Sedgman and Starfell: Willow Moss and the Lost Day - the first book in a spellbinding new fantasy series by Dominique Valente with illustrations by Sarah Warburton.

So what are you waiting for? Get voting!

Toppsta
2020-03-13
Vote for the #ToppstaBookClub title

VOTES FOR THIS MONTH'S #TOPPSTABOOKCLUB

1. Evernight by Ross MacKenzie

2. The House of One Hundred Clocks by A.M. Howell

3. The Highland Falcon Thief by M.G. Leonard & Sam Sedgman

4. Starfell: Willow Moss And the Lost Day by Dominique Valente

Vote Voted

Results

1. Evernight by Ross MacKenzie
191 votes
2. The House of One Hundred Clocks by A.M. Howell
51 votes
3. The Highland Falcon Thief by M.G. Leonard & Sam Sedgman
259 votes
4. Starfell: Willow Moss And the Lost Day by Dominique Valente
221 votes
Book pages Placeholder Book

Evernight

Thousands of years ago, the Evernight came to the Silver Kingdom and turned everything to darkness and chaos. It was only defeated thanks to the skill and bravery of the Witches. But now the Evernight is about to return, released by the evil Mrs Hester, and the only spell that might stop it is lost, deep below the great city of King's Haven.

Then orphan Larabelle Fox stumbles across a mysterious wooden box while treasure-hunting in the city's sewers. Little does she realise she is about to be catapulted into an adventure, facing wild magic and mortal danger - and a man who casts no shadow . . .

View Book COMPARE PRICES
Book pages Placeholder Book

The House of One Hundred Clocks

JUNE, 1905. Helena and her parrot, Orbit, are swept off to Cambridge when her father is appointed clock-winder to one of the wealthiest men in England. There is only one rule: the clocks must never stop. But Helena discovers the house of one hundred clocks holds many mysteries; a ghostly figure, strange notes and disappearing winding keys... Can she work out its secrets before time runs out?

View Book COMPARE PRICES
Book pages Placeholder Book

The Highland Falcon Thief

Adventures on Trains is a major mystery series from the prize-winning M.G. Leonard and Sam Sedgman. First stop, The Highland Falcon Thief, a breathless train journey full of deceptions, puzzles and clues to solve.

Harrison Beck is reluctantly joining his travel-writer Uncle Nat for the last journey of the royal train, The Highland Falcon. But as the train makes its way to Scotland, a priceless brooch goes missing, and things are suddenly a lot more interesting. As suspicions and accusations run high among the passengers, Harrison begins to investigate and uncovers a few surprises along the way. Can he solve the mystery of the jewel thief and catch the culprit before they reach the end of the line?

Hear whispers in the dining car, find notes in the library, and unknown passengers among the luggage as you help Harrison to solve the mystery aboard one of the world's grandest trains. Fast-paced and packed with illustrations and clues, Adventures on Trains is a stop you won't want to miss!

'A chuffing triumph' The Times, Children's Book of the Week

'Like Murder on the Orient Express but better . . . a terrific read!' Frank Cottrell Boyce

'A first-class book' Telegraph

View Book COMPARE PRICES
Book pages Placeholder Book

Starfell: Willow Moss and the Lost Day

The first book in the most spellbinding children's fantasy series of the year, now in paperback, with beautiful black-and-white inside illustrations by Sarah Warburton. Perfect for fans of Cressida Cowell and Nevermoor .

Willow Moss, the youngest and least powerful sister in a family of witches, has a magical ability for finding lost things - like keys, or socks, or spectacles. Useful, but not exactly exciting . . .

Then the most powerful witch in the world of Starfell turns up at Willow's door and asks for her help. A whole day - last Tuesday to be precise - has gone missing. Completely. And without it the whole universe could unravel.

Now Willow holds the fate of Starfell in her rather unremarkable hands . . . Can she save the day - by finding the lost one?

Step into Starfell, a world crackling with warmth, wit and magic, perfect for readers aged 8-12. Book 2 coming in April 2020!

View Book COMPARE PRICES

Share this read with others...

Tweet Email