Toppsta - Childrens Books – Reviews

Vote for the #ToppstaBookClub title

30th September 2019

Vote for the #ToppstaBookClub title

On the last Wednesday of every month we host a #ToppstaBookClub chat over on our Twitter channel, @Toppsta. We always welcome new people and love hearing your thoughts on the latest children's books during the discussion. The great thing is that YOU get to vote for the book you'd most like to discuss each month and often the author/illustrator will take part in the chat too. Sometimes we even offer signed copies to the people that pose the most interesting questions!

We have three fabulous titles in the mix for this month’s #ToppstaBookClub chat which will take place on Wednesday 27th November, 7.30 - 8.30pm. The choice is between The Snow Dragon - Abi Elphinstone and Fiona Woodcock's enchanting new picture book; Nevertell - Katharine Orton's gorgeous new magical middle-grade adventure and Ladybird's Poem's Out Loud!, featuring poems from award-winning poets, brand-new voices, hip-hop artists and spoken word performers, with beautiful illustrations by Laurie Stansfield.

So what are you waiting for? Get voting!

Toppsta
2019-11-08
Vote for the #ToppstaBookClub title

Vote for the November #ToppstaBookClub title!

The Snow Dragon

Nevertell

Poems Out Loud!

Voting closed

Results

The Snow Dragon
61 votes
Nevertell
50 votes
Poems Out Loud!
5 votes
Book pages Placeholder Book

The Snow Dragon

You can be late for many things in life, but you should never keep an adventure waiting...

In Griselda Bone's gloomy orphanage, daydreaming is banned, skipping is forbidden and Christmas is well and truly cancelled. But for Phoebe and her sausage dog Herb, is it possible that, just when things seem at their bleakest, magic awaits in the swirling, snow-filled air?

Join them on an enchanting adventure in this beautifully moving story by the bestselling author of Sky Song and The Unmapped Chronicles, Abi Elphinstone, and renowned illustrator Fiona Woodcock.

View Book COMPARE PRICES
Book pages Placeholder Book

Nevertell

A gorgeous, snowy adventure, set in the wilds of Siberia, full of magic and wonder, for junior readers.

A world of magic is only a whisper away...

Born in a Soviet prison camp, Lina has never seen the world outside until the night she escapes with her best friend, Bogdan. As the pair journey across a snowy wilderness, they are pursued by a vengeful sorceress and her pack of shadow wolves. The children will need every ounce of courage - and a whisper of magic - if they are to survive...

Perfect for fans of Abi Elphinstone, Sophie Anderson and Catherine Doyle.

View Book COMPARE PRICES
Book pages Placeholder Book

Poems Out Loud!: First Poems to Read and Perform

Includes free audio CD!

From rockets to mermaids and everything in between, there's something for everyone in this diverse and contemporary collection.

Perfect for young children aged 4+ who are approaching poetry for the very first time, these poems can be performed out loud, shared with others or simply read in your head. Featuring award-winning poets, brand new voices, hip-hop artists and spoken-word performers, this is a wonderfully fresh, diverse and relevant new anthology that will get children laughing, thinking, sharing and performing!

With gorgeous illustrations by Laurie Stansfield, and an accompanying CD that features performances from the poets themselves.

View Book COMPARE PRICES

Share this read with others...

Tweet Email