Toppsta - Childrens Books – Reviews

View all Blogs
Featured Book
Never Trust a Gemini
Never Trust a Gemini

FEATURED BOOK FOR TEENS/YA - a laugh-out-loud LGBTQ+ romantic comedy from stellar debut talent, Freja Nicole Woolf. For ages 12+

View book

Best books by age

Best Mysteries and Detective Books for Kids

Test

We love books with a mystery to solve, and preferably with plenty of adventure too. So, we've put together our list of recommended mystery and detective books for independent readers of all ages.

You'll find all kinds of adventures between the pages of these books, with the most unusual detectives from rock stars to astronauts and even skeletons. These thrilling reads will have you hanging off the edge of your seat.

Toppsta
2023-04-02
Best Mysteries and Detective Books for Kids
Book pages Placeholder Book

Clutch

Friendship, courage and a love for protecting nature come together in this wildlife mystery chapter book for birdwatching detectives ages 9+! 

 There's a thief in Aves Wood! When main character Twitch discovers the local peregrine falcon nest has been raided, he knows a THIEF is at work and he must solve the mystery. Together with his friends, the Twitchers, he sets out to catch the dangerous criminal, but a deadly trap awaits… 

 This is the third book in The Twitchers series, but could easily be read as a standalone book by the brilliant M.G. Leonard, internationally bestselling author of Twitch, Beetleboy and Adventures on Trains.

View Book COMPARE PRICES
Book pages Placeholder Book

The Stories Grandma Forgot (and How I Found Them)

A page-turning verse novel about the power of memory and story-telling, and an unbreakable bond between a grandmother and granddaughter.

Twelve-year-old Nyla's dad died when she was four, or that's what she's been told. So when Grandma Farida insists she saw him in the local supermarket, Nyla wonders if Grandma is simply "time travelling" again - the phrase she uses when Grandma forgets.

But Grandma is Nyla's best friend and when she asks Nyla to find her dad and bring him home, Nyla decides to make a brand new promise to her Grandma: to find him no matter what.

Join Nyla as she turns detective and sets out on a journey through her family's past, uncovering important stories that will help her understand who she is, and where she fits in the world.

View Book COMPARE PRICES
Book pages Placeholder Book

Penelope Snoop, Ace Detective

Penelope Snoop is an ACE detective, solving mysteries for all picture book readers ages 2+!  

Penelope Snoop is the absolute BEST Finder-Outer-in-the-Whole-Wide-World! But she has a tricky new case to solve this time: her favourite toy, Sidney the Smelly Sock Snake, has disappeared!

With her trusty sidekick, Carlos the dog, Penelope sets out to uncover the unusual mystery which, this time, going at the greatest of lengths, taking them right up into outer space!

Hilarious, original and fabulously illustrated, this is an irresistible picture book from the bestselling, award-winning Pamela Butchart.


View Book COMPARE PRICES
Book pages Placeholder Book

The Big Book of Mysteries

Get ready to be amazed as you uncover over 100 of the world's greatest mysteries, from Bigfoot to the Bermuda Triangle, with this fully illustrated non-fiction book of amazing mysteries for ages 8+!

Does the Loch Ness monster really exist? What ever happened to the crew of the Mary Celeste? And where exactly are the Hanging Gardens of Babylon? Including alien abductions, haunted houses, mind-blowing natural phenomena and much more, this book will explain the incredible mysteries that haunt us to this day…

With atmospheric artwork, compelling case studies and a seriously stand-out neon cover, this is a haunting collection of mysteries that you won't be able to put down.


View Book COMPARE PRICES
Book pages Placeholder Book

Winterborne Home for Vengeance and Valour: Book 1

In the first book of a spellbinding middle-grade series, trouble is afoot as five 11-year-old orphans get to the bottom of an incredible mystery, involving a phantom and a strange key.

When 11-year-old April moves to Winterborne Home, she discovers it isn't like any of other place. Hiding in the basement is a huge secret, and only with the help of the other orphans’ talents will April solve the riddle of a missing heir to keep her new home safe. But nothing is what it seems, no one is who they say they are and nowhere is safe…

This captivating series from the bestselling author of Gallagher Girls is perfect for fans of Robin Stevens and A Series of Unfortunate Events...


View Book COMPARE PRICES
Book pages Placeholder Book

Space Detectives

The SPACE DETECTIVES are set to solve out-of-this-world mysteries in this hilarious chapter book for curious children aged 7+!

Connor and Ethan are spending their summer holidays aboard the world's first orbiting city, Starville, which is exciting and amazing until they discover the space station is hurtling on a collision course with the moon! This is a case for the SPACE DETECTIVES. Connor and Ethan must find the culprit and save Starville from its impending doom…

Dog lost in space? Grown an extra head and don't know why? Pocket money stolen by a green blob? You need the Space Detectives!


View Book COMPARE PRICES
Book pages Placeholder Book

The Valley of Lost Secrets

Set during the Second World War, this is a mesmerising mystery about bravery and brotherhood for curious readers ages 8+!

It’s September 1939 and main character Jimmy has been sent from busy London to a small village in Wales. Green, quiet and full of strangers, he instantly feels out of place.

But then he finds a skull hidden in a tree, and suddenly the valley is more frightening than the war. Jimmy will have to uncover the secrets that lie with the skull and what he discovers will change him - and the village - forever.

An incredibly book about being courageous from Lelsely Parr, an outstanding new voice in children’s literature.


View Book COMPARE PRICES
Book pages Placeholder Book

British Museum: The Curse of the Tomb Robbers (An Ancient Egyptian Puzzle Mystery)

Learn how to read hieroglyphs in this compelling puzzle adventure story, published exactly 200 years after the Rosetta Stone was deciphered!

When ancient Egyptian friends, Nub and Iteti, overhear a gang of tomb robbers plotting to raid Queen Neith's tomb, they set off on a quest to stop them. But they need your help…

With hieroglyphic messages, mazes, logic puzzles and more, this exciting mystery is also packed with facts about ancient Egypt and a fold-out guide at the back of the book which explains how to read hieroglyphs and contains an easy-to-use hieroglyphic dictionary.

This is the perfect book for children who love history and hair-raising adventures, published in collaboration with the British Museum.


View Book COMPARE PRICES
Book pages Placeholder Book

Clarity Jones and the Magical Detective Agency

From the incredible imagination of bestselling author Chris Smith comes a hilarious fantasy adventure for 8+ readers, featuring a strong-minded young detective!


When Mutt gets a job at the leading detective agency in the realm of Rillia, he's not expecting to work with ex-princesses, snow goblins and the most notorious assassin in town. And he's definitely not expecting to be thrown in the deep end on the agency's toughest and most dangerous job yet - the mysterious case of the vanishing jester . . .

This is a hilarious adventure for fans of Cressida Cowell, Robin Stevens and Disney Pixar!

View Book COMPARE PRICES
Book pages Placeholder Book

The Mona Lisa Mystery

This time-travelling mystery for ages 8+ is bound to be a hit among art lovers and budding historians!

The Butterfly Club is a time-travelling gang scared of absolutely nothing! This time, their mission is to reach 1911 Paris and steal a little-known painting known as the Mona Lisa. But they’re not the only ones after it, and they’re soon to discover this is their hardest mission yet. The mysterious portrait contains hidden clues to a much greater treasure, clues that were placed there in Renaissance times by the Mona Lisa's creator Leonardo Da Vinci himself.

A thrilling artsy mystery that readers will simply not be able to put down.


View Book COMPARE PRICES
Book pages Placeholder Book

A Girl Called Justice: Book 1

Missing maids, suspicious teachers and a snow storm to die for... For a fearless girl called Justice Jones, super-smart super-sleuth, it's just the start of a spine-tingling first term at Highbury House Boarding School for the Daughters of Gentlefolk. For fans of Robin Stevens, Katherine Woodfine and Enid Blyton.

When Justice's mother dies, her father packs her off to Highbury House Boarding School for the Daughters of Gentlefolk. He's a barrister - specialising in murder trials - and he's just too busy to look after her alone.

Having previously been home-schooled, the transition is a shock. Can it really be the case that blondes rule the corridors? Are all uniforms such a charming shade of brown? And do schools normally hide dangerous secrets about the murder of a chamber maid?

Justice takes it upon herself to uncover the truth. (Mainly about the murder, but perhaps she can figure out her new nemesis - the angelic Rose - at the same time.) But when a storm cuts the school off from the real world, the body count starts to rise and Justice realises she'll need help from her new friends if she's going to find the killer before it's too late ...

View Book COMPARE PRICES

Mysteries & Detectives for ages 5+

Toppsta
2023-04-02
Best Mysteries and Detective Books for Kids

MYSTERIES & DETECTIVES SERIES FOR AGES 7+


Toppsta
2023-04-02
Best Mysteries and Detective Books for Kids

mysteries & detectives Series for Ages 9+

Toppsta
2023-04-02
Best Mysteries and Detective Books for Kids

MYSTERIES & DETECTIVES FOR AGES 11+

Toppsta
2023-04-02
Best Mysteries and Detective Books for Kids

1st April 2023

Share this read with others...

Tweet Email
Featured Book
Never Trust a Gemini
Never Trust a Gemini

FEATURED BOOK FOR TEENS/YA - a laugh-out-loud LGBTQ+ romantic comedy from stellar debut talent, Freja Nicole Woolf. For ages 12+

View book