Toppsta - Childrens Books – Reviews

View all Blogs
Featured Book
Magicborn
Magicborn

BOOK OF THE MONTH - The first in a sumptuous new historical-fantasy series from Peter Bunzl, bestselling author of the Cogheart series. Recommended for ages 9+

View book
Featured Books

Best books by age

Best Mysteries and Detective Books for Kids

Test

We love books with a mystery to solve, and preferably with plenty of adventure too. So, we've put together our list of recommended mystery and detective books for independent readers of all ages.

You'll find all kinds of adventures between the pages of these books, with the most unusual detectives from rock stars to astronauts and even skeletons. These thrilling reads will have you hanging off the edge of your seat.

Toppsta
2022-04-18
Best Mysteries and Detective Books for Kids
Book pages Placeholder Book

The Case of the Smuggler's Curse

The first in a series of gripping adventure stories, perfect for fans of Enid Blyton.

Lucy, Max, Charlie and Joe aren't looking for new friends - they have too many of their own problems to worry about. But when the four of them, and Charlie's faithful dog, Sherlock, spot a phantom figure on Southwold beach one winter's night, they are thrown together to unravel a mystery that none of them expected.

The deeper they dig, the bigger the adventure becomes - motorboats and tracking devices, bedroom breakouts and daring sea rescues are all in a day's work for the After-School Detective Club. But when their investigations lead them into trouble with the police, there is only one thing left to do - they must go undercover for a final showdown with a ruthless gang of smugglers who will stop at nothing to get what they want.

View Book COMPARE PRICES
Book pages Placeholder Book

A Girl Called Justice: The Spy at the Window: Book 4

Justice Jones, super-smart super-sleuth, is back for her fourth spine-tingling adventure! For fans of Robin Stevens, Katherine Woodfine and Enid Blyton.

It's 1939 and war has broken out. Everything has changed at Highbury House school. The pupils have to help cook, clean and wash up, for a start! Then a boys' school is evacuated to Highbury House, and the girls have to share the building. Justice and her friends are delighted that there are still mysteries to solve, however. Like: why can they hear voices coming from an empty room? And how can there be a face at the window two storeys up?

Then Justice faces her biggest challenge yet. Could there be a spy in their midst?

Elly Griffiths is a bestselling, prize-winning adult crime writer best known for the Dr Ruth Galloway Mysteries.

View Book COMPARE PRICES
Book pages Placeholder Book

Rockstar Detectives

'A delightfully funny book with a big, big heart' - David O'Doherty

The debut novel from comedian and presenter of The Last Leg , Adam Hills, featuring a young detective dream team.


When a priceless painting goes missing, Charley - a 12-year-old viral singing sensation - and her best friend George - camera whizz and budding comedian - are shocked to discover they're the prime suspects.

Now Charley and George have to prove they're not international criminals - all while nailing a stellar European tour and keeping up with their homework! But as news of high-profile heists hits the headlines wherever they go, Charley and George keep finding themselves in the spotlight for all the wrong reasons .

Can they solve these baffling crimes and save themselves, or will their shot for stardom be over almost as soon as it's begun?

The perfect read for fans of Sharna Jackson, Robin Stevens, David Baddiel and David O'Doherty.

Featuring brilliant illustrations from Luna Valentine.

View Book COMPARE PRICES
Book pages Placeholder Book

The Muddlemoor Mysteries: The Book Club Bank Heist

It is the holidays again and Joe Robinson and his cousins are back with Granny in Muddlemoor. The problem is... Muddlemoor is a hotspot for crime. When Joe, Tom and Pip discover that a dangerous gang of robbers is hiding in the local area they start an investigation straightaway. But hang on a sec. Granny's Book Group seems to be acting RATHER suspiciously. For one thing they NEVER talk about books and for another thing they keep going on about a local bank. Oh no! What if Granny's Book Group are the true-life bank robbers? There's only one thing for it. The cousins must stop Granny getting arrested, even if it means putting themselves in danger.

View Book COMPARE PRICES
Book pages Placeholder Book

Skulduggery Pleasant

Meet the great Skulduggery Pleasant: wise-cracking detective, powerful magician, master of dirty tricks and burglary (in the name of the greater good, of course).

Oh yeah. And dead.

Then there's his sidekick, Stephanie. She's... well, she's a twelve-year-old girl. With a pair like this on the case, evil had better watch out...

"So you won't keep anything from me again?"
He put his hand to his chest. "Cross my heart and hope to die."
"Okay then. Though you don't actually have a heart," she said.
"I know."
"And technically, you've already died."
"I know that too."
"Just so we're clear."

Stephanie's uncle Gordon is a writer of horror fiction. But when he dies and leaves her his estate, Stephanie learns that while he may have written horror, it certainly wasn't fiction.

Pursued by evil forces intent on recovering a mysterious key, Stephanie finds help from an unusual source - the wisecracking skeleton of a dead wizard.

When all hell breaks loose, it's lucky for Skulduggery that he's already dead. Though he's about to discover that being a skeleton doesn't stop you from being tortured, if the torturer is determined enough. And if there's anything Skulduggery hates, it's torture... Will evil win the day? Will Stephanie and Skulduggery stop bickering long enough to stop it? One thing's for sure: evil won't know what's hit it.

View Book COMPARE PRICES
Book pages Placeholder Book

Solve Your Own Mystery: The Time Thief

One puzzling mystery. Several slippery suspects. Endless possibilities!

Welcome to Haventry, a town where the ordinary and extraordinary collide! With ghosts, werewolves and zombies living side by side, trouble is always brewing. And when a fiendish crime is committed, YOU are the detective in charge of the case.

The Museum of Magical Objects and Precious Stones is putting on a special time-travelling showcase, but when the main exhibit is stolen, it's up to YOU to find the thief. The Time Sponge has the ability to stop and start time for whoever squeezes it, so who has the strongest motive? The minotaur chief of police who has a lot on at work or the shoplifting band of mermaids? Should you trail the museum's petrifying gorgon curator? Or could your very own yeti partner be responsible? YOU decide!

With hundreds of paths to choose from and no dead ends, you'll solve the mystery every time!

A fantastically imaginative detective story for readers looking for an interactive adventure.

View Book COMPARE PRICES
Book pages Placeholder Book

The Puffin Portal

Grace's family are wardens of the incredible Griffin Map, using its teleport technology to fight crime across Moreland. Right now it's all systems go at Griffin HQ, where Grace, her mum and her brother have their hands full answering a huge number of calls for help. They could really do with another warden on the team - but Mum believes their important work should be kept inside the family. Meanwhile, Grace is investigating a series of puzzling petty thefts. The clues lead her to a ramshackle castle on a lonely island, where the mystery only deepens. Will Grace be able to track down the thief?

Award-winner Vashti Hardy celebrates kindness, found family and brilliantly inventive kids in this mystery-led, steampunk companion to The Griffin Gate. This book features a dyslexia-friendly layout and font, and illustrations throughout so that even more readers can enjoy it.

View Book COMPARE PRICES
Book pages Placeholder Book

S.T.E.A.L.T.H.: Access Denied: Book 1

They're in a race to save his dad ... and the world. When his dad disappears, Arun Lal is amazed to discover that he was secretly working on a classified project and has been kidnapped by people intent on stealing it. Along with his geeky best friend Sam and tough-talking Donna, Arun is plunged into a race to rescue his father and find his creation before the thieves can turn it into a destructive global weapon... Full of thrilling high-octane car chases and more, this is the first in an explosive new action-adventure middle grade series. Perfect for readers aged 9+ and fans of Alex Rider, CHERUB and Mission: Impossible. Arun, Donna and Sam are ordinary school kids with an extraordinary secret. They are S.T.E.A.L.T.H., a crack team of agents in charge of the most cutting-edge piece of tech the world doesn't know exists: MANDROID. Always flying under the radar, they solve crimes, prevent disasters and rescue the innocent - and they STILL have to get their homework in on time!

View Book COMPARE PRICES
Book pages Placeholder Book

Kate on the Case: The Call of the Silver Wibbler (Kate on the Case 2)

Reporter-in-training Kate is back for a new adventure! Be swept downriver on this exciting jungle cruise in search of the mysterious Silver Wibbler bird... When Kate and her mouse Rupert sail through the jungle home of the legendary Silver Wibbler, they know there's a story to be sniffed out. Why else would the Bird Brigade be on board? Their fearsome leader General Hornbill is convinced the Wibbler is a myth but young Bird Brigader Bertie is determined to prove him wrong. Can Kate help Bertie uncover the truth? Full steam ahead for friendship, mystery and some ruffled feathers... A hilarious new mystery, packed with illustrations! Praise for KATE ON THE CASE: "Exciting" Big Issue "Beautifully illustrated" Teach Primary "Cleverly woven and illustrated, with a cast of brilliant characters" Armadillo

View Book COMPARE PRICES
Book pages Placeholder Book

Space Detectives

'Immensely, cheerily silly' Guardian Dog lost in space? Grown an extra head and don't know why? Pocket money stolen by a green blob? You need the Space Detectives! Connor and Ethan are spending their summer holidays aboard the world's first orbiting city, Starville (basically Beverley Hills in space!). The amazing space station is bursting with celebrities and the mega-rich. But Connor and Ethan are too busy selling ice cream to see the sights. However, neither of our heroes can resist a mystery and when they discover the space station is hurtling on a collision course with the moon (eep!) they know they need to step in. This is a case for the SPACE DETECTIVES! Can Connor and Ethan find the culprit and save Starville from its impending doom? LOOK OUT FOR SPACE DETECTIVES: EXTRA WEIRD CREATURES

View Book COMPARE PRICES

Mysteries & Detectives for ages 5+

Toppsta
2022-04-18
Best Mysteries and Detective Books for Kids

MYSTERIES & DETECTIVES SERIES FOR AGES 7+


Toppsta
2022-04-18
Best Mysteries and Detective Books for Kids

mysteries & detectives Series for Ages 9+

Toppsta
2022-04-18
Best Mysteries and Detective Books for Kids

MYSTERIES & DETECTIVES FOR AGES 11+

Toppsta
2022-04-18
Best Mysteries and Detective Books for Kids

18th April 2022

Share this read with others...

Tweet Email
Featured Book
Magicborn
Magicborn

BOOK OF THE MONTH - The first in a sumptuous new historical-fantasy series from Peter Bunzl, bestselling author of the Cogheart series. Recommended for ages 9+

View book
Featured Books