Toppsta - Childrens Books – Reviews

Best Mysteries and Detective Books for Kids

Test

With so many of us stuck indoors, what we all need is a gripping book to pass the time. 

We love anything with a mystery to solve, and preferably with plenty of adventure too. So, we've put together our list of recommended mystery and detective books for independent readers of all ages.

You'll find all kinds of adventures between the pages of these books, from ninja cats to swashbuckling pirates, skeleton detectives to teen spies. These thrilling reads will have you hanging off the edge of your seat.

You can also win copies of all these great books to review this April - check them out below.

Toppsta
2020-07-24
Best Mysteries and Detective Books for Kids
Book pages Placeholder Book

Toto the Ninja Cat and the Superstar Catastrophe: Book 3

Toto is no ordinary cat, and she can't wait for you to join her on her THIRD ninja adventure!

After months of keeping London safe from notorious animal bad guys, Toto the Ninja Cat is going on a well-earned holiday to the world's most famous music festival - Catstonbury!

But a villain has a dastardly plan to hypnotise the crowd when a world-famous band is on stage, turning them into evil minions. How can Toto possibly prevent the catastrophe when everyone thinks the band is the cat's pyjamas?

It will take all Toto's ninja skills - and some help from a friendly otter - to save the day...

Ideal for reading aloud or for children to curl up with and read alone, the story features brilliant black and white illustrations throughout. With gentle themes of friendship, inclusivity and winning in the face of adversity, this is a hilarious must-read for all animal-loving kids!

View Book COMPARE PRICES
Book pages Placeholder Book

Nightshade

Get ready for action, adrenaline and adventure in this explosive, brand new Alex Rider mission by bestselling author, Anthony Horowitz.

In this adrenaline-fuelled adventure in the number one bestselling series, Alex Rider is sent by MI6 Special Operations to infiltrate a new and sinister organization known only as Nightshade. Alex is on his own, with the fate of thousands of people resting in his hands.

View Book COMPARE PRICES
Book pages Placeholder Book

The Highland Falcon Thief

Adventures on Trains is a major mystery series from bestselling authors M.G. Leonard and Sam Sedgman. First stop, The Highland Falcon Thief, a breat hless train journey full of deceptions, puzzles and clues to solve.

Harrison Beck is reluctantly joining his travel-writer Uncle Nat for the last journey of the royal train, The Highland Falcon. But as the train makes its way to Scotland, a priceless brooch goes missing, and things are suddenly a lot more interesting. As suspicions and accusations run high among the passengers, Harrison begins to investigate and uncovers a few surprises along the way. Can he solve the mystery of the jewel thief and catch the culprit before they reach the end of the line?

Hear whispers in the dining car, find notes in the library, and unknown passengers among the luggage as you help Harrison to solve the mystery aboard one of the world's grandest trains. Fast-paced and packed with illustrations and clues, Adventures on Trains is a stop you won't want to miss!

View Book COMPARE PRICES
Book pages Placeholder Book

Seasons of War

The thirteenth thrilling novel in the internationally bestselling Skulduggery Pleasant series, SEASONS OF WAR will test the Skeleton Detective and Valkyrie like never before...

War is coming.

To avert catastrophe, Skulduggery and Valkyrie are sent on a secret mission that takes them away from everything they know, to a forsaken land of magic and grim, unrelenting terror. It is here that Valkyrie will have to fight the hardest - not only against the enemies who want her dead, but also against her own self-destructive impulses. It's only by crawling through darkness that she'll be able to once again stand in the light...

View Book COMPARE PRICES
Book pages Placeholder Book

Mr Penguin and the Catastrophic Cruise: Book 3

From the international bestselling creator of Claude comes a hero like no other: Mr Penguin. Indiana Jones meets Hercule Poirot in this series from Alex T. Smith.

Mr Penguin is boarding a luxury cruise ship. He doesn't like water, and he can't swim, but his friend Colin is performing with the Ladies Choir on board - and anyway, Mr Penguin feels like a rest after some busy Adventuring. What's more, fish finger sandwiches are apparently available twenty-four hours a day. Heaven!

But despite the glamorous film stars and party atmosphere, Mr Penguin can't help but feel that something shifty is happening on board. And when he befriends a young stowaway with a mystery of her own to solve, he soon finds that Adventures are lying in wait after all ...

View Book COMPARE PRICES
Book pages Placeholder Book

Liar and Spy

When Georges moves into a new apartment block he meets Safer, a twelve-year-old self-appointed spy. Soon Georges has become his spy recruit. His first assignment? To track the mysterious Mr X, who lives in the flat upstairs. But as Safer becomes more demanding, Georges starts to wonder: what is a game and what is a lie? How far is too far to go for your only friend?

View Book COMPARE PRICES
Book pages Placeholder Book

Agent Zaiba Investigates: The Missing Diamonds

Determined to be the world's greatest detective, Zaiba is always on the lookout for a crime to solve. She knows everything there is to know about running an investigation - in theory...

At her cousin's Mehndi party, Zaiba gets her first challenge: to discover the identity of the VIP staying at the same hotel. With the help of her best friend Poppy and brother Ali, Zaiba puts her sleuthing skills to the test. And when the celebrity's precious dog disappears, along with its priceless diamond collar, it's up to the trio to save the day!

The first in a fun, fresh and exciting new detective series, for fans of Robin Stevens, Katherine Woodfine, HIGH RISE MYSTERY and NANCY DREW.

View Book COMPARE PRICES
Book pages Placeholder Book

Flyntlock Bones: The Sceptre of the Pharaohs

Meet Captain John Hamish Watkins and his pirate crew: Briggs the quartermaster, Fishbreath the cook, Master Hudson the ship's Bosun, the riggers Drudger, Snitch and Dedweard - oh and last but not least Red, the girl rigger who becomes Flynn's friend and ally on board this unruly ship! Flynn's first case is a summons for help from Miss Kristina Wrinkly, curator of the Gypshun museum. There's been a break-in, and priceless, ancient artefacts have been stolen including the irreplaceable sceptre of the Pharaohs!

View Book COMPARE PRICES
Book pages Placeholder Book

Pages & Co.: Tilly and the Lost Fairy Tales

A magical adventure to delight the imagination. The curl-up-on-the-sofa snuggle of a series from a uniquely talented author.

Tilly Pages is a bookwanderer ; she can travel inside books, and even talk to the characters she meets there. But Tilly's powers are put to the test when fairytales start leaking book magic and causing havoc . . .

On a wintery visit to Paris, Tilly and her best friend Oskar bravely bookwander into the land of fairytales to find that characters are getting lost, stories are all mixed-up, and mysterious plot holes are opening without warning. Can Tilly work out who, or what, is behind the chaos so everyone gets their happily-ever-after ?

The second enthralling tale in the bestselling PAGES & CO series.

View Book COMPARE PRICES
Book pages Placeholder Book

The Fowl Twins

Criminal genius runs in the family...

Myles and Beckett Fowl are twins but the two boys are wildly different. Beckett is blonde, messy and sulks whenever he has to wear clothes. Myles is impeccably neat, has an IQ of 170, and 3D prints a fresh suit every day - just like his older brother, Artemis Fowl .

A week after their eleventh birthday the twins are left in the care of house security system, NANNI, for a single night. In that time, they befriend a troll on the run from a nefarious nobleman and an interrogating nun both of whom need the magical creature for their own gain . . .

Prepare for an epic adventure in which The Fowl Twins and their new troll friend escape, get shot at, kidnapped, buried, arrested, threatened, killed (temporarily) . . . and discover that the strongest bond in the world is not the one forged by covalent electrons in adjacent atoms, but the one that exists between a pair of twins.

The first book in the blockbusting new series from global bestseller Eoin Colfer.

View Book COMPARE PRICES

Mysteries & Detectives for ages 5+

Toppsta
2020-07-24
Best Mysteries and Detective Books for Kids

MYSTERIES & DETECTIVES SERIES FOR AGES 7+


Toppsta
2020-07-24
Best Mysteries and Detective Books for Kids

Books for ages 7+

Toppsta
2020-07-24
Best Mysteries and Detective Books for Kids

mysteries & detectives Series for Ages 9+

Toppsta
2020-07-24
Best Mysteries and Detective Books for Kids

MYSTERIES & DETECTIVES MORE TO EXPLORE for Ages 9+

Toppsta
2020-07-24
Best Mysteries and Detective Books for Kids

MYSTERIES & DETECTIVES FOR AGES 11+

Toppsta
2020-07-24
Best Mysteries and Detective Books for Kids

31st March 2020

Share this read with others...

Tweet Email