Toppsta - Childrens Books – Reviews

View all Blogs
Featured Book
The Exploding Life of Scarlett Fife: Book 1
The Exploding Life of Scarlett Fife: Book 1

BOOK OF THE MONTH - Maz Evans is BACK with a laugh-out-loud tale about a girl with BIG feelings. Recommended for ages 7+ with gorgeous illustrations throughout by Chris Jevons.

View book
Featured Books

Best books by age

Best Mysteries and Detective Books for Kids

Test

With so many of us stuck indoors, what we all need is a gripping book to pass the time. 

We love anything with a mystery to solve, and preferably with plenty of adventure too. So, we've put together our list of recommended mystery and detective books for independent readers of all ages.

You'll find all kinds of adventures between the pages of these books, from pizza-delivery-boys-turned-detective to skeleton detectives and teen spies. These thrilling reads will have you hanging off the edge of your seat.

Toppsta
2021-03-30
Best Mysteries and Detective Books for Kids
Book pages Placeholder Book

Lizzie and Lucky: The Mystery of the Missing Puppies

Meet Lizzie and Lucky: a sparky young detective and her loyal Dalmatian sidekick!

The first title in a brand new illustrated series from beloved animal author Megan Rix.

Lizzie is desperate for a dog. In order to convince her parents to get one, she has to come up with 101 reasons why she needs one. Lizzie is a master at making lists, so thinking of 101 reasons is going to be easy! Especially as she is deaf and could train one to be her hearing dog. But as Lizzie begins compiling her list, she witnesses an adorable puppy being snatched away and put into a van by a mysterious-looking man. Can Lizzie solve the case - and maybe find herself a loyal friend at the same time...?

View Book COMPARE PRICES
Book pages Placeholder Book

Walker: The Mystery of the Missing Millions

Ten-year-old Walker isn't allowed a dog of his own, so he walks other peoples. But when he finds he can understand them, he gets drawn into mysteries that only the dogs can solve. When crooked billionaire, Arlington Wherewithal goes to prison, his wife, Jazaminta, asks Walker to look after his dogs. Walker finds out that a gang is trying to make Jazaminta tell them the hiding place of Arlington's missing millions. Walker tries to help, but when he gets too close he puts himself in peril! Can Walker, his friend Anje ,and the dogs save themselves, and follow the clues to finding the missing millions?

View Book COMPARE PRICES
Book pages Placeholder Book

A Girl Called Justice: The Smugglers' Secret: Book 2

Justice Jones, super-smart super-sleuth, is back for her second spine-tingling adventure! For fans of Robin Stevens, Katherine Woodfine and Enid Blyton.

When Justice returns for spring term at Highbury House, it's not long before murder is back on her mind. Assigned to look after the elderly Mr Arthur in Smugglers' Lodge on the other side of the marshes from school, Justice is initially dismayed. But dismay quickly gives way to intrigue as she finds herself drawn to Mr Arthur and his stories of piloting in the First World War - and especially when Dorothy, who lives nearby, tells her that the lodge is haunted.

But when Mr Arthur dies in mysterious circumstances, Justice soon has a list of questions in her journal: why hasn't he been given a proper military funeral? Why does the new Matron not seem to know much about First Aid? And what secrets does Smugglers' Lodge really hold?

Justice sets out to uncover the deadly truth in this brilliant follow-up to A Girl Called Justice .

View Book COMPARE PRICES
Book pages Placeholder Book

Mark Anchovy: Pizza Detective

A pizza job like no other . . . Meet Mark Anchovy: pizza delivery boy and private detective - on his first mission to Rome. 'LOVE this proper funny series ... Funny, fast-paced adventure with loads of cheese (the good kind!). - Pamela Butchart Colin Kingsley is a pizza delivery boy with a twist. He's actually an aspiring detective. But in sleepy Rufflington-on-Sea, there are no cases to solve - until the Golden Spatula League come calling. The world's premier agency for 'caterer-detectives', run by children, the G.S.L. have been dazzled by Colin's freakish memory skills. To join their ranks, Colin - codenamed 'Mark Anchovy' - must fly to Rome to track down a valuable stolen painting, titled, 'Girl With A Squirrel'. The chief suspect: Big Alan Fresco, notorious art thief and pizza addict. It's the toughest, most pizza-ry mystery the G.S.L. have ever encountered. The first book in a trilogy that readers will gobble up! Written and illustrated by William Goldsmith - with hilarious black and white artwork from start to finish. Be sure to check out the website: www.markanchovy.com.

View Book COMPARE PRICES
Book pages Placeholder Book

Skulduggery Pleasant

Meet the great Skulduggery Pleasant: wise-cracking detective, powerful magician, master of dirty tricks and burglary (in the name of the greater good, of course).

Oh yeah. And dead.

Then there's his sidekick, Stephanie. She's... well, she's a twelve-year-old girl. With a pair like this on the case, evil had better watch out...

"So you won't keep anything from me again?"
He put his hand to his chest. "Cross my heart and hope to die."
"Okay then. Though you don't actually have a heart," she said.
"I know."
"And technically, you've already died."
"I know that too."
"Just so we're clear."

Stephanie's uncle Gordon is a writer of horror fiction. But when he dies and leaves her his estate, Stephanie learns that while he may have written horror, it certainly wasn't fiction.

Pursued by evil forces intent on recovering a mysterious key, Stephanie finds help from an unusual source - the wisecracking skeleton of a dead wizard.

When all hell breaks loose, it's lucky for Skulduggery that he's already dead. Though he's about to discover that being a skeleton doesn't stop you from being tortured, if the torturer is determined enough. And if there's anything Skulduggery hates, it's torture... Will evil win the day? Will Stephanie and Skulduggery stop bickering long enough to stop it? One thing's for sure: evil won't know what's hit it.

View Book COMPARE PRICES
Book pages Placeholder Book

Jane Austen Investigates: The Abbey Mystery

Jane Austen turns detective in this spooky historical adventure by award-winning author Julia Golding!

It's 1789 and a young Jane Austen turns detective as she seeks to solve the mysterious happenings at Southmoor Abbey. When a carriage accident forces a change of plans, 13-year-old Jane is sent to be a companion to Lady Cromwell for a week as the household prepares to celebrate the eldest son's coming-of-age party. While there, Jane vows to solve the mystery of the ghostly monk in the Abbey grounds - for she does not believe in such stories!

But this is not the only strange occurrence for the adventurous young Jane to investigate. There are shivery night-time investigations, an Indian girl with secret talents, a library fire, two prize horses in danger, and friends to save from false accusations.

With notebook in hand and her faithful dog Grandison by her side, will Jane overcome the continuous obstacles and find out the truth?

View Book COMPARE PRICES
Book pages Placeholder Book

Ali Cross

The son of Alex Cross follows in his father's footsteps in this exciting new thriller for young readers from globally bestselling author James Patterson Alex's son Ali is eager to follow in his father's footsteps as a detective, but when his best friend goes missing, what price will he have to pay to solve the mystery? LIKE FATHER, LIKE SON Alex Cross The brilliant DC detective who never gives up on a case. Ali Cross The tenacious kid who's determined to follow in his father's footsteps. The case that finally gives him a chance Ali knows Gabe Qualls better than anyone, so when his friend goes missing, Ali jumps right into action. Being Alex Cross's son has taught him the skills he needs to solve the mystery- intelligence, persistence, and logic. One thing he didn't inherit? Patience. Because Ali knows that with every day that passes without the police finding Gabe, the less likely it is that he'll ever be found. And being Alex Cross's son, he refuses to accept those odds.

View Book COMPARE PRICES

Mysteries & Detectives for ages 5+

Toppsta
2021-03-30
Best Mysteries and Detective Books for Kids

MYSTERIES & DETECTIVES SERIES FOR AGES 7+


Toppsta
2021-03-30
Best Mysteries and Detective Books for Kids

mysteries & detectives Series for Ages 9+

Toppsta
2021-03-30
Best Mysteries and Detective Books for Kids

MYSTERIES & DETECTIVES FOR AGES 11+

Toppsta
2021-03-30
Best Mysteries and Detective Books for Kids

30th March 2021

Share this read with others...

Tweet Email
Featured Book
The Exploding Life of Scarlett Fife: Book 1
The Exploding Life of Scarlett Fife: Book 1

BOOK OF THE MONTH - Maz Evans is BACK with a laugh-out-loud tale about a girl with BIG feelings. Recommended for ages 7+ with gorgeous illustrations throughout by Chris Jevons.

View book
Featured Books